Skip to content

Yogurt made in a Slow Cooker

March 1, 2009

Update: I just discovered “Works for me Wednesday” over at the blog We are THAT Family but I think this Yogurt solution is worth mentioning, even if it’s not a current entry.

D , J and I are serious consumers of yogurt. I used to be okay with the cheapo fat-free varieties but that was because I was ignorant and thought yogurt was supposed to be the consistency of salad dressing.  Then I discovered 6% Balkan style yogurt and the clouds parted. BUT, we were getting dangerously close to needing a line of credit in order to afford two containers of four dollar yogurt per week . SO, I did some research and have now set up my own little economic yogurt production line.  We use organic milk and feel all smug knowing it would cost $15 more to buy the same quantity of organic yogurt in the store.

This is what you need to make 2 containers:

2L of milk (anything from 2% to a combo of homogenized and cream)

1/4 cup of plain yogurt as a starter

1/4 cup of skim milk powder (you can get away without this but it makes the yogurt nice and thick)

a slow cooker

digital thermometer

some towels or a blanket

(If you only want 1 container, use half the milk etc.)

1) Heat 2L of milk up to almost 180 F. Stir often to avoid scalding. And don’t walk away to do some other absorbing activity. Trust me.

2) While milk is heating, take out your yogurt starter and let it sit out to become room temperature.

3) Plug in your slow cooker and turn it to high and let the canister heat up until its too hot to touch and then unplug. But do not actually touch cansiter to see if it’s too hot to touch. Trust me.

4) Let  the milk cool between 105 F and 110 F. If you live in a place where it is winter ALL THE TIME, you can put your pot outside to cool it quickly. Just don’t walk away and do some other absorbing activity. Trust me. If it cools too much, just reheat to 105 F – 110 F.

5) Mix in 1/4 cup yogurt starter into the milk.

6)Mix in 1/4 cup skim milk powder.

7) Pour the milk into the heated slow cooker (which should be unplugged!!) , put the lid on and wrap it up in a few towels or a blanket.

8)Let it sit overnight or 9 hours through the day. My yogurt usually sits from 10pm until 7 or 7:30am  and it’s perfect.

9) Scoop yogurt into two yogurt containers from store bought yogurt you will never need to buy again (!) and refrigerate. Refrigeration helps create a thicker consistency too.

10) Plain yogurt is fabulous with honey and trailmix. Or granola. Or fruit. Or jam. Or <insert comlimentary item here>

11) Remember to save a 1/4 cup to start your next batch.
Leave a comment with any questions or tips or your profound thanks.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 8:27 pm

    Profound thanks indeed! I was just looking for such a recipe.

    • Claire permalink*
      March 22, 2009 10:40 pm

      Thanks for your profound thanks! Hope it works for you. I see you are a fellow Yukon Mama – your blog is great. How did you find me?

  2. Theresa permalink
    March 22, 2009 6:42 pm

    Yay. I am happy that a) you are still blogging (and may be doing so even more regularly) and b) you posted this recipe. Do you know how this would compare to using a yogurt maker (you know, the plastic insulated kind)? Profound thanks for posting this Claire. PS I think there are hundreds of moms reading your mom’s blog by now (I have shared it with friends who have told me they have shared it with friends and so on)… I hope she is ok with that. (Ok, I’m going to go now as this “comment” is turning into a letter). T

    • Claire permalink*
      March 22, 2009 10:22 pm

      Hey Theresa! I’ve never used a conventional yogurt maker – though I have stood in front of one, coveted, and pondered whether it is worth $50. But I imagine it would be easier to use. The slow cooker method is good because most people already have one or three, depending on how many they received as wedding gifts. And you feel like a total hippy using it too.

  3. March 25, 2009 3:33 am

    Thanks for directing me to your blog! I’m going to have fun here! One of these days I will get around to trying this yogourt recipe, as we, too, are avid 6% Balkan yogourt consumers.

  4. March 26, 2009 4:48 am

    Thanks for the post! I was pondering another go @ making yogurt…my last batch I slow “cooked” in the oven and the kids said it tasted like baby spit up…I was not brave enough to find out! I’ll be trying this this week. Check out my Thursday Blog carnival!

    • Claire permalink*
      March 26, 2009 4:03 pm

      I recommend letting the yogurt sit in the fridge for awhile when it’s finished…not quite the same effect as fresh bread. I think even baby spit up might taste better chilled?

  5. March 26, 2009 12:20 pm

    I found a yogurt maker at a flea market and started making my own! It’s much tastier, plus you know everything that went into it *L*

  6. Claire permalink*
    March 26, 2009 4:05 pm

    Even better!

  7. Tiffany permalink
    April 2, 2009 5:24 am

    THANKS for this! I tried it today… so easy and so wonderful! THANKS!

Trackbacks

  1. MY son has spinach in his teeth… « mumologic
  2. Vegetables: Incognito « mumologic

Leave a Reply

