Skip to content

Costs of Raising a Potato

March 24, 2009

jamesmoneyI read an article the other day that told me I should have spent $10,000 on James during his first year of life. Unfortunately for James, the government received – in the form of student loan payments – what should have been his $179 weekly allowance. So don’t look at me, son. This article also let me know that by the time James turns eighteen, we will have spent $167,000 on him. HA. That’s all I have to say about that. They must have polled parents that bronze their children’s teeth as they fall out.

These statistics appear on the Canadian Council on Social Development website, who in turn received these specific statistics about child rearing costs from Manitoba Agriculture, Food, and Rural Initiatives (what?).  If I needed statistics on the costs of raising a potato to full maturity, I might ask Manitoba Agriculture, Food, and Rural Initiatives. I’m sure they have all kinds of useful information regarding PLANTS. But I hesitate when asked to reorganize my child-rearing budget (which consists of fuel costs to and from the thrift store) based on their findings regarding HUMAN CHILDREN. I’m relatively new to parenting so if I missed something crucial here, let me know. Maybe Manitoba farmers actually came up with the idea of children – in which case, I hope James takes personal cheques.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Cath McGeragle permalink
    March 24, 2009 10:20 pm

    I completely agree with the cost of raising human children, quite right dear! You went to the Mexican Riviera?!!! NO FAIR!! Cath

    • Claire permalink*
      March 26, 2009 3:56 pm

      Sorry Cathy! I’ll pack up all the leftover UV and send it your way.

  2. Jean permalink
    March 24, 2009 11:37 pm

    Manitoba still has arranged marriages. The $10,000 is the dowry. But, this being Canada and all, there was a bill passed that the parents of both boys and girls had to provide a dowry – a nod of the head to women’s rights. The $10,000 can be paid in cash or in potatoes. To date, more people have chosen potatoes over cash and thus the Dept. of Agriculture was required to either start keeping records for Stats Canada or pay more potato tax.

    Apparently there were a lot of flustered employees at the Dept. of Agriculture when it dawned on them that their potatoes had now entered the age of political correctness.

    You’re welcome.

    • Claire permalink*
      March 26, 2009 3:58 pm

      I wish you had raised us in Manitoba, Mom.

  3. Theresa permalink
    March 25, 2009 12:52 am

    My only comment is I hope that bill went through the wash before it went in James’ mouth! Yuck!! Oh, and I totally agree, kids are only as expensive as you let them be. Also, so far the yogurt looks fabulous (I am 4 hours in to it “incubating”) Love T

    • Claire permalink*
      March 26, 2009 3:59 pm

      Oh Theresa, it’s an American bill. Everyone knows that only very clean Americans engage in money exchange.

  4. Christine permalink
    March 25, 2009 8:10 pm

    Hey Claire, I either read the same article or one similar that said 10 thousand in the first year. That is funny…seeing as that is what we lived off of for the last few years thanks to student loans 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. This is SO Last Year « mumologic

Leave a Reply

