Skip to content

Avoblabea Salad

March 25, 2009
tags: ,

blackbeans1Following is a recipe for an Avocado and Black Bean Salad – a recipe which is possibly related to where we were just over a week ago.  I googled “Mayan Riviera + black bean + avocado +salad” and came up with a dismal number of hits. Oddly, I was more successful when I misspelled avocado. I shortened the name to Avoblabea Salad because I’m working on being more efficient, especially in the kitchen. Please ignore that it sounds like an uncomfortable medical condition.

I’ve made this a few times – once for a potluck – and while no one made me pen the recipe on the back of their hand, I did not see anyone covertly flushing it. Someone else brought massive chicken skewers to this same potluck so the competition was pretty fierce.

In all seriousness, it’s quite delicious. AND, I know it’s healthy because J.D. would eat this salad based on principle, even if it tasted like shoes.

Salad:
2 cups of fresh or frozen or canned corn kernels
3 red peppers, halved (discard seeds and core)
3 cups of cooked black beans (canned or see below for how to cook dried black beans – which is WAY more cost effective and sodium free)
1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro or parsley
1/2 cup chopped green onions
1 ripe avocado
125 g feta cheese

Dressing:
3 Tbsp white vinegar
1 tsp brown sugar
3 Tbsp orange juice
1 clove garlic, minced
1 jalepeno, diced (I’ve used crushed red pepper flakes if you don’t keep jalepenos around for after school snacks)
1/3 cup olive oil

To cook dried black beans:
1. soak beans in cold water for a few hours at room temperature or overnight in cold water.
2.Drain and place in a large saucepan and cover generously with water.
3. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer gently 1 – 1.5 hours or until tender.

Salad Prep:
1. Place corn in a hot, dry skillet and cook until browned (5-10 min) Cool.
2. Place peppers on a baking sheet skin side up and broil until blackened. (5 min?) Rub off skin and dice peppers.
3. Combine corn, peppers, and black beans in a large bowl
4. Add chopped herbs.
5. Dressing: Whisk all ingredients together and pour over salad. Toss to coat.
6. Add diced avocado and feta cheese just before serving.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Colleen permalink
    March 26, 2009 2:20 pm

    It sounds awesome. I think I’ll make it this week – I’ll let you know how it turns out!

  2. Theresa permalink
    March 26, 2009 3:12 pm

    When we came home from Mexico it was all about the homemade guacamole and salsa, yum. This recipe looks great. By the way, the yogurt was awesome. I let it sit for only 5 hours cause I read it would have a “milder” taste- less acidic which I thought the kids might like better. It was great. I think I will keep experimenting with the timing to see what we like best. Also… my thermometer broke half way through, I lost it! I started to cry… so funny. T

  3. Claire permalink*
    March 26, 2009 3:51 pm

    I have cried for lesser things.

Leave a Reply

