Skip to content

Caution: This Post Contains Poo

May 6, 2009

dogsignI spent five years living in Victoria, B.C. There are many things I can tell you about Victoria but today I am going to tell you this: The vast majority of Victoria dog-owners pick up their dog’s poo. This is because if you do not pick up your dog’s poo, an angry parks society member is bound to rub your nose in it.

I have spent two years living in Whitehorse, YT. There are many things I can tell you about Whitehorse but today I am going to tell you this: The vast majority of Whitehorse dog-owners DO NOT pick up their dog’s poo. This is because it is winter 11.5 months of the year and what harm is a little frozen poo?

Instead of describing our sidewalks for those two weeks when everything thaws, I will employ your imagination. If you don’t mind.

I am not a dog owner so maybe thawed poo is actually not as disgusting as I have judged it to be. However, I am a kid-owner with a kid that just happened to poo on the sidewalk yesterday.

I now understand the temptation to pretend it never happened.

I had not planned this event and nor was I prepared for it. James is getting pretty adept at communicating his elimination needs but ‘elimination’ is as much detail as I get. If I had known, I would have insisted he poo in his pants like normal children do.

I am now sensing that I have reached your threshold for detail, but please, let me say one last thing:

I DID NOT LEAVE HIS POO ON THE SIDEWALK.

*pat on the back*

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen permalink
    May 6, 2009 1:04 pm

    If there’s a down side to having an early toilet trained child, I guess it’s not always knowing when their urge to poo is going to strike! A good story to tell James someday when he’s older and not appreciating all you do for him . . .

  2. Christine permalink
    May 6, 2009 5:10 pm

    That is too funny. I was just telling a friend how annoying it is that people up here do not pick up their dog poo. I blamed my anger for dog poo on the sidewalk on Victoria and how dog poo is picked up there!

Trackbacks

  1. I Can See Clearly Now the Couch is Gone « mumologic

Leave a Reply

