Skip to content

The Best Mother’s Day in Recent Memory

May 11, 2009

mothersday 006Yesterday marked my second Mother’s Day but for some reason I have no recollection of the first one. Oh right. I have no recollection of any specific day or event before June of last year. Thanks James.

Do not be jealous, but when I got up, THERE WERE PANCAKES THAT I DID NOT MAKE WAITING FOR ME TO EAT THEM. Sorry for yelling. There was no other way to tell you that. And then we had plans to go spend the afternoon at the Yukon Wildlife Preserve because nothing says Thanks for Being a Mom like a herd of wild sheep and/or bison. But James was all, “Happy Mother’s Day. I’d rather nap.” So we drove around the suburbs (and the ghetto, accidentally) of Whitehorse while he did just that.

AND THEN, Sara and P came over for homemade pizza. We made it using the recipe that follows. J.D. asked me to pick up ONE cheap stout beer at the liquor store for the dough. I thought that this would not be a problem. However, it turned out to be a huge problem when I realized that “stout” beer is not in my mental encyclopedia. And also that buying a single beer at the liquor store is very embarrassing to think about, let alone do. So after some advice from a fellow shopper, I came home with six bottles of Guinness, making this the most expensive homemade pizza ever. Also the best.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

1 cup of Guinness
2 Tbsp of butter
2 Tbsp of sugar
1 tsp of salt
1 1/4 C of all purpose flour
1 1/4 C whole wheat flour
2 1/4 tsp yeast
corn meal for the pizza pan/stone

1. Put ingredients in the bread machine in order listed. Select dough setting and start.
2. When dough cycle is complete, remove from bread machine and press or roll dough into whatever format you wish. We made individual size pizzas which worked out well. Let sit for 15 min.
3. If you have a pizza stone (highly recommended) place in oven and preheat to 400 degrees F.
4. Brush dough with olive oil and assemble with whatever pizza toppings you like.
5. Sprinkle corn meal on the pizza pan/stone so the dough doesn’t stick.
5. It is very challenging moving the dough to the pizza stone. It would have been impossible if we had made one large pizza. With the individual sized pizzas, two people lifting each side with their hands worked. Two egg lifters may also have worked.
5. Bake until the crust is brown and crispy on the bottom. (time depends on how thin you roll out the dough)
6. Enjoy with left over Guinness, if you too cannot bring yourself to purchase a single bottle.  

For more things that work, check out Works for Me Wednesday

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 5:50 pm

    Claire,

    Just found your blog today and love it, love it so far! Keep writing, you’re crackin me up!

    Oh, and the pizza looks yummy, don’t mind if i do….

  2. May 14, 2009 11:12 pm

    Hi. I was just surfing around some blogs, and I came across yours. It’s pretty nifty and I’m really enjoying my stay here. I’ve bookmarked your site for daily visits, and I hope you’ll visit me. I’d love to have you. 🙂 Have a great day and I’ll see you around the blogosphere. 🙂

Leave a Reply

