Skip to content

Things I like (but do not understand): Wolfram Alpha

May 21, 2009

This is a project that just came out on Monday. I want to explain to you what it is but every time I try to arrange the words, I get a memo from my brain that says I’m not qualified. Here’s a quote from the homepage:

Today’s Wolfram|Alpha is the first step in an ambitious, long-term project to make all systematic knowledge immediately computable by anyone. You enter your question or calculation, and Wolfram|Alpha uses its built-in algorithms and growing collection of data to compute the answer.

Well said, Internet, well said.

If you’re overwhelmed by the enormity of it all, you can start by typing in your birth date and place and it will tell you:

-the day of the week you were born: Thursday
-how many days/weeks old you are: 9674 days/ 1382 weeks
-the weather on that day: between 8 and 12 degrees C and 48.5% overcast.
-sunrise/sunset on that day: 7:42 am/5:52 pm
-phase of the moon: waxing gibbous
-notable events: birthday of Diane Keaton (actor)
-and to top it all off, the city center’s elevation: 367 meters

See? Everything you didn’t know you needed to know. I always had a feeling I was born under a waxing gibbous moon.

EDITED TO ADD: J.D. came home and read this post and then explained to me that he is very busy at work and he does not have time to deal with my abduction or identity theft for having revealed calculable clues about my birthday. So, all you perverse criminals that regularly read blogs mommy blogs, I randomized a few of the numbers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

