Skip to content

Caption Contest

August 6, 2009
Sorry, but you are not allowed to play outside ever again.

Sorry, but you are not allowed to play outside ever again.

Oscar’s Dad took this photo of the boys a couple of weeks ago. The caption potential is endless and so I would like to open it up to y’all. Leave your caption in the comments and I will select a winning caption next week. Enter as many as you like. There will be a prize. And it will be awesome. Also, if you have any ideas for an awesome prize, let me know. Oh, and please don’t make me select my own caption as the winner because no one else entered.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim Caudle permalink
    August 7, 2009 8:11 am

    I’m sorry Daddy don’t go, we’ll be good

  2. J.D. permalink
    August 7, 2009 12:24 pm

    James and Oscar co-starring in “Planet of the Apes”:

    “Oh my God. I’m back. I’m home. All the time, it was… We finally really did it.
    [screaming]
    You Maniacs! You blew it up! Ah, damn you! God damn you all to hell!”

  3. Kristi permalink
    August 7, 2009 1:06 pm

    All I can hear is my brother saying, “I’ve got some iiiiice cream. And you don’t got none. I got some iiiiice cream and you don’t got none.”

    Found your site by accident today. I was scrolling down the comments at Dooce and had to laugh out loud at the “sister boob” comment. I have three daughters and attempted to breast feed all three for at least six months. With my first- one breast was dominant and I didn’t worry about it at all until my husband only started ogling half my chest. After that, my breast pump and I became close friends to try and even up the girls.

    Oh crud. Was that an over-share?

    • Claire permalink*
      August 7, 2009 1:19 pm

      honesty is valued here at Mumologic. Thanks for your caption entry!

  4. August 7, 2009 3:55 pm

    “Noooooooooooooooooo. Not her!!!! Help!”
    Not too clever, but whatever the caption, this picture needs to be displayed at a big party for their high school graduation or something equally funny and embarrassing. 🙂

  5. Jean permalink
    August 7, 2009 4:09 pm

    No caption…just the theme song from Chariots of fire.

  6. philbo baggins permalink
    August 7, 2009 5:31 pm

    no wonder they’re crying, the man in the white and green shirt is standing on their toes

  7. August 7, 2009 10:19 pm

    We were so scared….really Mom!…..the bear was s-o-o-o-o-O big, and he was running after us s-o-o-o-o-O fast…we “bearly” made it inside the house!

  8. Katie permalink
    August 8, 2009 3:42 pm

    Claire,
    You are definitely more creative than I am if you feel there are endless captions to accompany this photo. This is what I managed to come up with:

    James: “I thought vertical stripes would make me look taller! Disappointed!”
    Oscar: “And these horizontal stripes make me look too wide! Darn it!”

    • Claire permalink*
      August 8, 2009 5:13 pm

      If James could say three syllable words, disappointed would be one of them.

  9. Jean permalink
    August 8, 2009 6:19 pm

    Disappointed is 4 syllables. That’s why he has not yet mastered it even though he can say ‘marmalade’ with impunity.

    • Claire permalink*
      August 8, 2009 7:34 pm

      I blame my mother. She’s the one that taught me to speak. Doesn’t everyone pronounce it “dis-pointed”?

  10. August 8, 2009 7:19 pm

    “let’s go boys, your father left. now it’s back in your boxes, i’ll give you your medicine, put on your headphones and we’ll look at the funny flashing pictures again.”

    maybe that’s too creepy.

  11. Jocelyn permalink
    August 8, 2009 7:20 pm

    “But WHYYYYYY???!?!? You promised to take me to the ball game!”

    “I’m NEVER going to get out of this hellish ordeal! When is it MY turn to be saved?!??”

    Brutal, I know. I’m just not creative like sooooome people. CLAIRE. … JD.

    miss you guys!

  12. Eileen permalink
    August 8, 2009 8:52 pm

    Claire: Now boys, you don’t really want to go play ball with Dad, we’re going shopping today, remember?

  13. Colleen permalink
    August 9, 2009 12:05 pm

    I’ve been thinking about this for far too long… The best I can do is:

    “Watching Disneyland burn”

  14. Jean permalink
    August 9, 2009 1:12 pm

    Can we vote? I vote for Tom first, then J.D.

    Your mother taught you to say dis-pointed? Your mother is very weird.

  15. Janice Grocholski permalink
    August 9, 2009 6:33 pm

    She’s coming, she’s coming!!!!!! You told us she would never babysit again!

  16. Joel permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:56 pm

    They were hapless victims. Their father couldn’t imagine the horror that would unfold once he left. James was counting cards since he was nine months old, Oscar was a language savant, and together they were an intractable force of genius. But their intelligence had proven to be futile against the childproof construction of their highchairs. From their plastic perches, they would be carefully pointed towards the torture box and left at their mother’s side for an hour of infernal suffering, as she gazed on in blithe fascination. They could close their eyes and scream but that would only encourage an increase in volume until their voices were hoarse and the unceasing descant prevailed. They would never win. This wasn’t a domestic affair; they were up against the collective power of nearly every mother in North America. It was an alliance, so vast and so loyal that the only remaining hope for humankind was to take out the chief of the tribe: Oprah.

  17. Jane permalink
    August 12, 2009 8:15 pm

    “I am going to eat both of you and daddy will have no idea.”

  18. Stefan permalink
    August 12, 2009 11:51 pm

    Hansel and Grimwald realized the witch’s true intentions, but alas, it was too late…

  19. August 14, 2009 1:29 pm

    18 HEADLINE: Photographer Catches Woman Pulling Kids’ Tails.

Trackbacks

  1. The Fridge Door Society « mumologic

Leave a Reply

