Skip to content

Defeat

September 29, 2009

It’s over. I’ve lost. 20 curse points awarded, the last of which was delivered this morning, just minutes after the alarm. I woke up with a high blood sugar, which is like waking up and the inside of your mouth is made of paper and someone has left their lit cigarette behind your eyeballs. These sensations are both quite uncomfortable. I imagine a heavy night of drinking might procure the same results.

The winning point was a low drawn out shhhhhhhhh—-, with a real punctuated “yit” at the end. Really satisfying. But I told J.D. that it didn’t count because diabetes is a total cursing handicap. He graciously relented but then I realized that 19 is a horrible place to be. I was paranoid and jumpy, much like cocaine withdrawal. It’s no way to live. So I gave him back the point and I am moving on with my life, dammit.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen permalink
    September 29, 2009 2:06 pm

    Good for you Claire – that must have been awful having that hanging over your head. Hope your blood sugar is back to normal – that sounded unpleasant. Now, for the “prize” . . . JD might have to get after his Dad, as I understand he has still not pressed the “send” button on your tax refund . . . (he has a partial good excuse – our laptop is being held hostage at a computer shop for repairs).

  2. Jean permalink
    September 29, 2009 8:50 pm

    I think, because of the diabetes factor, that you should get to go to 40 while JD goes to 20. I have to say, though, that I am feeling quite impressed that the whole time you were living at home I never once heard you swear during a blood sugar low or high. Wait a minute. Did I just totally negate my initial suggestion?

  3. Jane permalink
    September 30, 2009 8:40 am

    I think it’s obvious that she picked up cursing in Nanaimo.

Leave a Reply

