Skip to content

About Time for Another Poo Post

October 5, 2009

As I sit here typing this sentence, James is in his crib yelling things like, “I’m going to win this one sucka.”

He has recently discovered that since we started ignoring his bed/naptime poo threats, actual pooing does the trick. I don’t know how, but he manages to produce a full diaper at every juncture of sleep.

I should revise that last statement. He produces a full diaper at every juncture of sleep that involves me. Somehow J.D. became a bedtime ninja and James just lies down and closes his innocent eyes whenever his father is in charge. I am very happy for J.D. He should thank his man-chest for this good fortune.

How is elimination communication going you ask? Fine, thanks. Except for the zero communication and the poo.

However, the sleep situation is miraculous, even though I whine and even though there is a toddler crapping his pants at this very moment. J.D. puts him to bed and he sleeps – S.L.E.E.P.S – until 4 am, and then he wakes up goes “Is it time?” and in my head – I don’t even have to wipe the drool from my cheek if I don’t want to – I go “No, it’s not,” and then we both go back to sleep until 5 am. Then he wakes up and goes, “Now?” and in my head I go, “Nnmpf” and then we both go back to sleep until 6 am. Then he wakes up and goes, “I’ve decided it’s time.” And then he poos.

You may think that greeting each new day with fresh poo would be an awful thing but if the poo is preceded by at least eight hours of direct contact with your bed – it’s actually not so bad.

Now, I must be excused. James just won the first round.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

