Skip to content

Emily and Wild Things

October 22, 2009
tags: ,

One week ago, our friend Emily came to stay with us while she looks for a place to live and a place to work. Previously she was working in Destruction Bay, Yukon, which is a few hours west of Whitehorse and has a year round population of 37. She went to Superstore here the other day and nearly had a seizure. There were more people lined up at till one than she had seen in about four months.

There are many good things about Emily being with us right now. For one, she cleaned my bathroom the second day she was here. God Bless her. She is also very adept at distracting the Hulk from his war path. She makes a phenomenal squash-pear soup and she laughs at my stupid jokes.

Tonight Emily and I are going “out”. As in, I am leaving the house after 7 pm without my child. At least I think that’s what going “out” means. I’ve been reincarnated several times since having done this, so forgive me if my definition is inaccurate.

We are going to see “Where the Wild Things Are.” I love this book. But it feels kind of ironic leaving my own Wild Thing to go watch someone else’s Wild Thing. Here’s the trailer:

One Comment leave one →
  1. Theresa permalink
    October 22, 2009 1:24 pm

    Yay, good for you, every momma needs a night out! Enjoy yourself Claire! PS. I miss you! T

Leave a Reply

