Skip to content

Hot Set

October 24, 2009
tags: ,

J.D. and I have this game that we like to play with company because it’s easy to explain and also we have an unfair advantage at winning.

Everyone writes down random things on pieces of paper that a person could potentially like. Some examples:

1. apple crisp
2. robotics
3. 2 in 1 shampoo/conditioner

Then everyone except the “it” person is dealt 4 of these cards. You give the “it” person two of those four that you think they would like. They end up with four cards – two from you and two from the other player – and they arrange the four cards in their preferred order. You get points according to how the cards you gave them ranked. So either J.D. or I are guaranteed to win this game because we know each other’s preferences, whereas our guest can only make intelligent guesses. This is hard to do when we act in sporadic and irrational ways most of the day.

I should also mention that between J.D. and myself, I have the unfair advantage because I am a woman and therefore naturally in touch with the needs preferences of others. Although J.D. mentioned that he strategically did not give me a card that said “flowers” because I hate flowers. Right?

During the last round, I was the “it” person. I received my four cards which I arranged like so:

1. Jumping in piles of leaves
2. Polkadots
3. Set (This is a card game that is boring because I do not have an unfair advantage at winning)
4. Learning about History

J.D. seemed really upset about the order in which I placed the cards. I thought that his academic self had taken offense to my disinterest in learning history. I tried to appease him by explaining that I just wasn’t in the mood for history. Then he said something really weird. Something like, “well next time I’m in the mood, I’ll go and rake the front lawn.” What?

And THAT is when I realized that the card that I read as “set” was actually “S-E-X”. A-W-K-W-A-R-D. And that is when Emily turned in for the night.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Davida permalink
    October 25, 2009 3:58 pm

    Oh my god Claire, that was HILARIOUS…i am literally laughing out loud right now! Too funny!!!

  2. October 25, 2009 7:45 pm

    Thanks for a great laugh at your expense. Awkward moments are the best!

  3. Theresa permalink
    October 26, 2009 7:28 am

    Oh my. :o) The only question I have, is who put “sex” in the pot to begin with. he he.

Trackbacks

  1. This is SO Last Year « mumologic

Leave a Reply

