Skip to content

Friday Mish Mash

December 4, 2009

J.D. had a cold this past week so he decided to cash in on a couple of sick days. Cha-ching. He was just sick enough to justify staying home, but not sick enough to be completely useless. Angel choirs burst into song and I immediately began planning a mid-week James-less trip to the grocery store. Here he is, “babysitting”:

I told James to smile nicely for Grandma and this is what he gave me. Sorry Grandma. He’s out of my control now.

James broke the coffee bodum a couple of days ago. Let me rephrase that. JAMES BROKE THE COFFEE BODUM AND WE ARE ALL GOING TO DIE. Because J.D. was home, I was able to do an emergency coffee run which ended up as an emergency latte run. J.D. then spent the rest of the morning researching home espresso machines. He discovered that we are 3000 Visa points away from a very nice model. Only 3000 points people. That’s a mere $6000 on credit. Lattes everyday on a $6000 couch sounds pretty good to me.

In the meantime we must be resourceful. I tried to simulate what might happen if a bodum and a drip machine had a baby. I would call it a reluctant success, and only because of the sugar free almond syrup we found in the back of the pantry. And the cream. Thank you, cream.

And finally, I would like to end this cornucopia of a post with Oscar’s pants. If only we could all own amazing pants like these:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Elena permalink
    December 5, 2009 6:40 am

    I once owned amazing pants like those when I was in gr.12 and stole them from my sister’s closet; they look far better on Oscar and I try to avoid all people who once witnessed me panted in black watch. I hope you enjoyed the solo grocery excursion; I actually feel notably giddy when I go to the grocery store alone (actually, I also feel notably giddy (or perhaps, dizzy) when I go with all four in tow as well): “Ahhh, the possibilities: checking expiry dates, planning meals, shopping exclusively from the middle shelf and up…”

  2. bakerjac permalink
    December 5, 2009 7:43 am

    I’ll confess that I use a drip coffee maker. I’ll also confess to having a back-up coffee maker stored in the garage. I’ll also confess to owning an emergency single-cup, reusable-filter-drip-thingy for power-outage-related emergencies. It would appear that I have a caffeine problem.

    One more confession: I wouldn’t know what to do with a $6000 couch. I’m pretty sure if you added up what we’ve spent on furniture in our entire house it still wouldn’t add up to $6000.

  3. Elena permalink
    December 5, 2009 12:31 pm

    And now, jaclyn, I know what to get you for Christmas.

  4. December 5, 2009 4:11 pm

    ah, the quest for good coffee on a budget… πŸ™‚
    when i first started drinking coffee i tried it my mom’s way – put the ground coffee in the glass, pour hot water on top of that, wait for the stuff to settle, and drink. i found this to be too hot and bitter for me, and the grinds were a nuisance. then i drank cheap instant for years, occasionally making a drip coffee, but it just wasnt worth it. then i tried starbucks… espresso coffees…
    i figured i could possibly make my own good, strong coffee at home and try to avoid tithing at the temple of starbucks. i remember in spain ppl had these stove top espresso pots (or moka pots) – so i found one at the mall and bought it. it was alright flavour, etc, but the cleaning was a beoch, so the cleaning started getting procrastinated, until one day i discovered an abundance of plankton flourishing in my stove top espresso pot thingy, and that was it. plus the thing with it being made of aluminum and its possible implications in Parkinsons or whatev. a guy i used to work with bought some $150 espresso machine, justifying that it will pay for itself in a few months of him not having to buy starbucks. after eyeing several low end espresso machines i bought an el cheapo $50 Toastess “espresso” machine from London Drugs, and loved it! something about frothed milk… i made coffee with it for a couple years, unitl it broke, and then mym mom gave me hers, which i’d bought her for christmas or something, but she found too much work do use. i didnt – i’d make it first sleepy thing in the morning, and didnt mind one bit because i loved the coffee. i got gifted a stainless steel stove top espresso maker, and a bodum (awesome for making steamless frothed milk with), but i still clung to my Toastess. that is until, when we went to visit my brother in Edmonton, he slipped me a cup of instant Nescafe French Vanilla coffee… my world view was shattered… how could this be? this, this… stupid “instant” coffee is… delicious! oh, the agony! the drama that ensued – throwing away years of loving, trusting relationship, based in a time-honoured tradition, only to chase after some newcomer floozy like a horny teenager! but i didnt care – she always smelled nice, was naturally sweet, full bodied, and instantly gratifying…
    more than a year has gone by, and we’re still together. we’re happy. but every now and then i still go back to the old Toastess, when i need a stronger kick in the pants… πŸ™‚

    • Claire permalink*
      December 5, 2009 6:44 pm

      OH.MY. I was totally not going to publicly admit this but…I also found a jar of instant Nescafe French Vanilla coffee in our cupboard and the desperate need to replace the bodum STAT has somehow subsided…

  5. December 5, 2009 4:22 pm

    oh husband of mine, you know i’m always up for giving you a stronger kick in the pants.

Leave a Reply

