Skip to content

Uncrapping Christmas Decor

December 6, 2009

We’ve never invested in Christmas decorations mostly because pretty things look out of place in a basement, which is where the first two Christmas seasons of our marriage were celebrated.

When I taught grade 6 our first year here, I went to the staff Christmas party and we all had to exchange $15 – $20 Christmas ornaments. First of all, this should be against the law. Or at least seriously frowned upon. Second of all, a $15 – $20 dollar ornament does not mean nicer. It means bigger. And with more sparkles.

I came home with an enormous iridescent angel that would have brought a tree of any size to its knees. This didn’t matter because we only ever got as far as buying a tree stand that year, so the angel ended up suspended from our ceiling. She looked awkward, like someone who shows up to a board games party wearing a prom dress. She never envisioned a future with only paper snowflakes for company.

This year we live in an environment where $15 – $20 ornaments would be less embarrassed. However, I decided that instead of sacrificing our cheese budget to buy Ceiling Angel some friends, I would employ the talents of my toddler son.

Within these garlands lie weeks and weeks worth of marker drawings and paintings. James didn’t seem bothered when I started hacking all of his hard work into tiny bits but I know there will be a Christmas when a gift certificate for therapy will be in order.

I also found an online 3-D snowflake tutorial and spent way too much time cutting diagonal lines and stapling paper in ways that totally bent my mind.

This is our Living Room Angel of Glad Tidings – Ceiling Angel’s economy class cousin. Living Room Angel of Glad Tidings is inspired by a drawing my sister did when she was three. It was an elaborate nativity scene complete with angels and a banner that read “SNEB”. It has something to do with the glory of God. Obviously.

This week’s uncrapping Christmas lesson is this: keep your Christmas decor standards exceedingly low and you will ultimately save at least $15 – $20….which you can then put toward something like this.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bakerjac permalink
    December 7, 2009 7:35 am

    Now I know what to do with all of Norah’s paintings that have been collecting in a pile in my kitchen. I’m too sentimental to through them out, but not clever enough to come up with a nice way to use/display them. Thanks for being sentimental AND clever.

    Oh, and your snowflake is spectacular.

    • Claire permalink*
      December 7, 2009 12:44 pm

      I am rarely both sentimental and clever at the same time. I came dangerously close to blowing a fuse.

Leave a Reply

