Skip to content

Don’t Be Sick

December 15, 2009
tags: ,

Whitehorse launched a campaign against germs when Health Canada went all code red on Swine flu. It’s called “Don’t be Sick!” and there are pamphlets and posters and murals all over town with a little dude sneezing on everything. I feel bad for Quizno’s Subs because they are right next to an empty retail store and the city leased its frontage for one of their sneezing men.

“Hi, Welcome to Quizno’s. Let us prepare you a ham sandwich with our bare hands. Would you like some H1N1 on that?”

I took James and Oscar to the Rec centre this morning and James spotted a giant sneezing man painted on the floor. He then did what probably everyone in Whitehorse has been dieing to do since the start of this campaign: He got down on all fours and licked the sneezing man.

The front clerk nearly threw up and rushed over with Clorox bleach wipes and bottles of Purrell. It’s okay James. The lady just wants to sanitize your tongue so that the next person who licks the floor won’t get sick.

Ironically, it was J.D. who contracted the Norwalk virus that has been flattening Yukoners left and right. James and I are still holding strong. The secret’s in the (floor) sauce.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Theresa permalink
    December 15, 2009 6:27 pm

    You had me laughing out loud Claire, which rarely happens, even with your blog. PS. Isaiah and I managed to get Norwalk two weeks ago, we then walked it on over to Grandma, share the love. Swine flu was just Isaiah this summer. I have to say, I hate the hype. Anyway, we miss you guys. Thanks for making me laugh.
    T

  2. jean permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:43 pm

    James lives life the way the rest of us only dream of. Rest assured he will be the child for whom the fire department is called out to release his tongue from the metal pole – more than once.

  3. Betty permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:53 pm

    I must say this made me bust a gut, as Ave is the type of kid who would also lick the germ guy. We also all had the crazy stomach flu about 3 weeks ago, brace yourself…I thought I escaped it, it took about 5 days to hit me. I must add, I do vomit much more tactfully than big daddy Damien, who really rocked the house. He would have scored some major hits on YouTube, if only I had captured it.

  4. Davida permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:57 pm

    Love it!! We have been avoiding it too…*knock on wood*…..people at the school have been dropping like flies, my brother and his girlfriend upstairs had it, my mom had it, but so far so good for us..and swear that is why…i let Lachlan taste and touch most everything!

Leave a Reply

