Skip to content

Yaw-yee and Pewt

January 7, 2010

James woke up this morning apparently in the middle of a personal drought. He looked at me like why are there two of you? Then he started pleading for water – he calls water yaw-yee, like a backwards yee-haw, which I guess is pretty on par with his personality.

He inhaled almost a full glass and then puked all over me, which was awesome, really. I am washable. Our mattress is not.

That pretty much sums up our morning: A full beer glass of water, and then BLAAAAH! I’ve become very skilled at identifying the warning gurgle in his throat and then aiming his bazooka of a mouth at the floor.

As a former educator, I recognize teachable moments and thus, James has expanded his vocabulary: puke (pewt!). He says it and then he does it. How’s that for reinforced learning? I have also learned a thing or two: Anyone – ill or not – would probably puke if you let them inhale a beer glass of water.

There is a certain shameful pleasure in nursing an ill toddler, especially an ill boy-toddler. They get all immobile and limp, curl up in your arms and stare at you with giant Bambi eyes. It’s a mother’s dream minus the pewt.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Davida permalink
    January 7, 2010 2:59 pm

    awwww, poor little guy! I absolutely agree with the shameful pleasure…Hope he is feeling better soon!

  2. bakerjac permalink
    January 7, 2010 7:46 pm

    Sorry to hear poor James is sick. Maybe he somehow got it from Norah – we’re having our own pewt issues around here today. (And here, she calls it “barf”. Pewt is cuter.)

  3. January 8, 2010 3:54 am

    get better soon, James! take a shower, mum! 😉
    my son’s sick too, but he’s not pewting. last year was pewt year – both of them were pewting all over everything. my daughter lost like 5 pounds – they hardly ate for a week, it was pretty brutal.
    so i guess the 6th sense movie crazy mother concept of keeping child sick to be able to care for them has its roots in reality. kwazy.

  4. Theresa permalink
    January 9, 2010 8:54 am

    Give a hug to baby James for us! When Isaiah was sick last time, before he would throw up he would just say “not agaaain!” PS. I have been thinking about your questions and I will be sending you an email soon.

    T

  5. January 10, 2010 10:20 pm

    I hate when they’re sick, but I love how they sleep all the time. Of course when they’re awake they’re usually super grumpy (my kids anyway) and you have to clean up puke. Trade off. When you’re breastfeeding and they’re just sleeping, breastfeeding, sleeping, breastfeeding (puking) breastfeeding etc. it’s not too bad. I think I finished a few novels when Elias was about a year old and was sick for a week!

  6. Mark Theobald permalink
    January 13, 2010 11:51 pm

    Sunday before Christmas. Dinner. Sophia is starving – inhales a whole slice of pizza, plus assorted veggies, and consumes a large amount of milk.

    Monday. 1:00 AM. Sophia crying. “Probably teething,” Meg whispers as she kicks me awake. I go and rub her back until she calms down, and stumble back to bed.

    1:30 AM. Sophia crying. “Probably teething,” Meg whispers as she kicks me awake. I decide Ibuprofin is a good thing for everyone. Except I can’t find it. I bash around in the pantry, boxes of cereal falling everywhere. Sophia is now standing in her crib, screaming at me. Meg comes. “I’ll get the medicine, you get her.” I pick her up, rub her back, and carry her into the kitchen. She is still whimpering, and I hear…a gag. Puke – down my arm, back, chest, neck, legs, feet, floor. A LOT of puke. Sophia looks at me, sort of surprised, her tongue hanging out, covered in…puke. Meg looks at me. “At least you’re just in boxers. I’m wearing pajamas!” I felt so consoled…

    All she had to do was mention it for the next week, and I felt like I was going to lose my previous meal!

  7. Colleen permalink
    January 17, 2010 8:49 pm

    Oscar has been “pewting” since Friday night – I just thought I’d let you know that I am sharing your former joy. All he will eat is “cracker juice” (crackers soaked in soup broth).

    Are we next?

    🙂

Leave a Reply

