Skip to content

Sleep is for the Weak part II

January 25, 2010

Many thanks to all those who told me to lock James in a dark room while he screams. It would probably work if my will power were more like iron and less like a dead fish. Our method is now to sit and guard the end of his bed while he does gymnastics until he eventually passes out. This takes approximately way longer than it should but oh well. Free time to ourselves in the evenings was starting to get boring. Remember how I told you about James’ jovial middle of the night visits to our room? Well, they still happen, but they’re less jovial and more WHY CAN YOU NOT DECODE WHAT IT IS I’M SCREAMING ABOUT!? YOU MUST NOT BE MY REAL PARENTS! On that note, here’s something totally unrelated:

James’ great aunt sent him a team Canada hockey jersey. It’s very nice and because of the collective efforts of J.D.’s extended family, I’ll be getting up at 4:30 a.m. for the rest of my life. The helmet is a bicycle helmet purchased by J.D. (with great pride) directly from a bicycle store. J.D. came very close to telling James hockey doesn’t actually exist when James started referring to it as his hockey helmet.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaelyn permalink
    January 25, 2010 4:32 pm

    Adorable! Dont worry (says the nonparent) sleep will come to one of you eventually! My bets are on James outlasting you!

  2. Jean Allen permalink
    January 25, 2010 8:10 pm

    Get a T.V. and find a channel devoted to either the sport of field hockey or floor hockey. Or polo. Leave it on until James has completely bonded with short shorts and kneepads or his sports idol is Prince Charles. I recommend never taking him within 5 miles of a hockey arena and, if he asks, tell him that the ice skates he sees in the stores are Yukon manual waffle irons. You heat up the blades over the wood stove and use them to make the criss-crossy patterns on the waffles. Tell him he hasn’t seen anything until he’s seen the annual Yukon Waffle Jamboree where burly men sit around with their feet in bon fires and then dance on great slabs of dough at midnight. Unfortunately this festival of fun and frivolity was canceled indefinitely due to WAY too much fun and frivolity.

    As far as I know, field hockey is not played at 4:30 in the morning, nor is it played in the winter. Floor hockey is played in smelly gyms during the 2 p.m. P.E. class and ranting moms are generally not expected to attend and yell at the coach.

    There is a way around anything. By the way, have you thought about putting a T.V. in his room tuned to the golf channel? He’ll be bored to sleep. Oh, hey! Get a poster of some great golfer holding a golf club and photoshop in some ice skates on the golfer’s feet. By the time James is 7 or 8 he’ll be so confused about sports that he’ll want to stay home and read.

    This was way longer than I meant it to be.

  3. Theresa permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:00 am

    Yeah, we’ve never let them “cry it out” either. The closest I can get is going in every five minutes or so to comfort and reaffirm it is bed time, but at this age it is really hard. We do the best we can with what we’ve got. Hope you got my email response to your email Claire, I did finally get that off. Peace!

  4. Daila permalink
    January 26, 2010 1:23 pm

    Since my child is still oblivious to the fact that the crib is escapable (a fact a hope she never realizes… until she finds a wonderful man to marry and then she graduates to a big bed in her own house) I’m going to pass on what my mom had to do with Andréa who could succesfully vault out of the crib and beat mom and dad to the door. My mom had my dad turn the door into one of those doors that opens at the top and the bottom, but as I’m sure your friends might frown upon cutting their doors in half, my mom suggests using a babygate in the door. Andrea could still see out but could not escape and yes she yelled and pleaded for a while but then would typically fall asleep on the floor. Might be easier than closing the entire door?

    D

  5. January 26, 2010 8:31 pm

    Bedtimes sure are super fun. Unlike most of your other commenters, I am totally against crying it out and door locking. I think that while this may appear to work in the short term (i.e. your child finally gives up) in the long term it can pose problems with sleep and trust issues. Our oldest child (now four years old) was not into going to bed without a struggle for a long time. Our bedtime consisted of me lying beside him and often physically holding him while he tried to get out of bed, and him often crying from exhaustion but unwilling to go to sleep. It’s a lot of work, but at about 20 months he started getting more willing to just lie quietly while I sang or rubbed his back. At three years of age he started to willingly go to bed, and now he goes to sleep on his own with a short snuggle. These days of sleep deprivation are difficult, I know!!!, but I think in the long term it’s much better if you don’t let him cry it out or lock him in his room. We also started just sitting on a chair in his room and reading a book with a little mini clip on light, and this worked well too. It cut down on my frustration with the whole process because I got to do something I liked, while still being there for him and helping him to go to sleep.

    Hope some of this helps you! I think I might have written about this on my blog, so you can search there and see what other things I may have written that I have now forgotten!

  6. Colleen Grandy permalink
    February 1, 2010 10:24 am

    If cribs had lids then “cry-it-out” might work. Since they don’t, gentle coaxing seems to be the only alternative… 🙂 I’m yawning in sync with you at this very moment.

Leave a Reply

