Skip to content

That Ain’t Jam

January 26, 2010
tags:

James fell off a trunk this morning and split his chin on the edge of a plant pot. There’s nothing like profuse amounts of blood and four stitches to increase the quality of one’s parenting.

James, you may have and/or do whatever you want for the rest of your life. Here, start by watching television all afternoon so I can post bloody photos of you on the internet. Someone should give me a badge or something.

He’s okay. It was a nasty gash but it should heal up all right. The nurse told us chin and eye brow splits are a rite of passage for little boys.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Davida permalink
    January 26, 2010 3:15 pm

    Oh Claire, you are so funny. Not that James got hurt, but just the way you put things! I am glad he is okay, he looks pretty happy in the picture. Shawn’s nephew did that, and then a few months later did something else that left him missing a front tooth…I never really thought that those kind of things were so inherent in boys until I had one of my own.
    Hope all is well!

  2. Jean Allen permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:07 pm

    Boys???? How did you get that cute dimple in your cheek, Claire? And aren’t you the one with a scar on your body from climbing up a chest of drawers which fell on top of you. I don’t know. I got it all second hand from your younger sister who was trying to explain a tipped dresser (which was bigger than both of you put together) and 5 large drawers plus all their contents scattered across the floor.

    Bloody disaster hath no sex.

  3. Theresa permalink
    January 27, 2010 3:13 pm

    Poor James. I have to say the worst is having to restrain them in emergency while they are getting the needles then stitches. That is enough to make me cry every time. I think kids are much tougher then us parents. :o(

  4. Theresa permalink
    January 27, 2010 3:14 pm

    Ok, for some reason my sad f ace 😦 came out surprised and happy looking 😮 Not quite sure why that happened but I wasn’t intending to laugh here! But now I am laughing. 😮

  5. Theresa permalink
    January 27, 2010 3:19 pm

    Ok, one more quick story. The picture of James (with blood and smile) reminds me of one night after bed time when we went in to check on Isaiah and he was standing there, blood painted all over face and body, smiling. It looked like a horror movie. He had a bloody nose then had played/painted with it. Nearly gave me a heart attack, had it not been for the smiling face, which was a dead give away it wasn’t serious. 😮

    • Claire permalink*
      January 27, 2010 3:33 pm

      Now there’s a kid who knows how to take his lemons and make a lemon drop.

  6. Janice Grocholski permalink
    January 27, 2010 7:13 pm

    Oh well, it will toughen him up for when he plays hockey!!!! Hope he’s okay!

  7. Elena permalink
    January 28, 2010 6:44 am

    Claire, I once had to go the the ER when I was very pregnant with our fourth. I walked in with a huge tummy, a 17 month old bleeding from a head wound and my very own black eye given by the bloody toddler earlier that morning. I am still in awe that I am at large.

Trackbacks

  1. A Survey « mumologic

Leave a Reply

