Skip to content

American Dream

February 4, 2010

I never thought I would be a “playgroup” kind of mom but I am more than a playgroup kind of mom. I am a “plan the rest of my life around the playgroup because they have coffee that I didn’t have to make and stimulation that I didn’t have to organize” kind of mom. I will return to this important concept after I take you for a drive down the road of things unrelated.

J.D., James, and I are planning a West Coast Amtrak adventure for the spring break because it is the very last opportunity that we have to travel with James without him counting as a person with a bum big enough to warrant its own seat. We have milked that small bum status for all it’s worth. When we return, four days before James’ second birthday, he will have clocked 27 flights, several scary Mexican van rides, a cruise, and an undetermined number of train hours.

Aside: I have this horrible habit of announcing our grand plans to the world and then sheepishly retracting those grand plans when we realize they are a step or two outside of reality. For example, I told everyone we were going to travel Europe for our honeymoon. Then I told them we were just going to Ireland. Then I told them we were just going to drive across Canada. We ended up road tripping Saskatchewan. So I want to include a disclaimer here that our West Coast Amtrak adventure could end up as a public transit tour around Vancouver.

J.D. and I were researching a few things in San Diego and we came across THIS: Java Mama. It’s a cafe in San Diego that caters specifically to mamas and caregivers. Namely: Coffee that you don’t have to make and stimulation that you don’t have to organize. EVERY SINGLE DAY.

It’s an American Dream I believe in.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    February 5, 2010 2:25 pm

    Hi Claire,

    I’m really excited for you to take Amtrak down the west coast. We went to Portland and Seattle via Amtrak in March 2008, check out my facebook photos! Anyways, if you want free advice, I would suggest buying science world memberships and then you can get into the oregon science centre, and the science centre in Seattle with your memberships. (if you’re in a science oriented family 🙂

    I want to do that trip again in March 2011 – it was so fun and such a great way to travel with little kids.

    Katie

Trackbacks

  1. Dear Spring, « mumologic

Leave a Reply

