Skip to content

No More Stupid.

February 8, 2010

I procrastinate – often because I’m lame, but often because my brain fell out with the placenta.

Last month, J.D. and I are shopping downtown. We’re in line to pay for something and J.D. tells me that our parking meter is probably going to expire soon and explicitly tells me to feed the meter. I wander off, mostly likely with the intention of feeding the meter. Somewhere between point A and B, I buy ski poles and board shorts instead. Later, after admiring my purchases, J.D. tells me we should hurry back to the car because he just saw the parking meter guy walk by and that extra quarter I stuck in the meter is probably going to expire soon.

It is very difficult to explain the ticket under our wiper to J.D. Yes, I remember him telling me to feed the meter. No, I do not remember how that didn’t happen. But, look! If you pay it the very next business day, it’s only $10 instead of $25! Then I stick it in the glove box feeling pretty all right, because what a deal!

Let us skip forward four weeks. I am downtown running errands being incredibly productive and efficient. I am looking for loose change to feed the parking meter. I check the glove box. Whoops. But! I am only a block and a half from City Hall. Look at me, not procrastinating! I will pay this $25 ticket right here and now.

The City Hall clerk reads over the ticket. “Well,” she says. “It went to court this morning. That will be $55, please.”

That parking spot was definitely a 50 cent parking spot. It was maybe a $10 parking spot. $25 was really pushing it. I can say, with absolute certainty, that it was NOT a $55 parking spot.

So right there, in the Whitehorse City Hall, I make a solemn vow to never be stupid again.

Yesterday afternoon, J.D. is checking our credit card statements and he notices an 11.99 charge for something called e-music. He asks me about it and it sounds familiar but ya know, I really couldn’t say…

Turns out I signed up for a monthly music service -three months ago. I vaguely remember giving out my credit card info with the intention of grabbing free music and cancelling the account before being billed. How clever. Unfortunately I grabbed no music and promptly forgot to cancel. I have a feeling that the world’s economic growth depends on people like me. Good-bye recession! I would like to mention, though, that I signed up for this BEFORE I made the no-more-stupid vow.

This is the part where I thank J.D. for his tolerance and forgiveness. And disposable income.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    February 8, 2010 3:09 pm

    Thank you! I swear my brain left me when I found out I was pregnant…I still wonder how I made it through our last year of university. He is now 3 years old and I still am missing parts of my brain… so thank you for allowing me to realize I am not the only one. 🙂

  2. Claire permalink*
    February 9, 2010 2:05 pm

    Thank YOU. I was hoping for a few “me too” comments.

  3. February 9, 2010 9:52 pm

    Wow, $55!!! They really gouged you. It’s amazing how that forgetfulness thing just happens to all of us. I’ve heard something along the lines of breastfeeding women have 3% less brainpower. I have no idea where this information came from, so I may be passing along totally bogus info, but since my brainpower is at a low I can’t really look into it 🙂 I’m sure lack of sleep also has something to do with it….

Leave a Reply

