Skip to content

A Minor Redemption

February 9, 2010

When I was writing yesterday’s post, I was pretty sure there was a happy ending. I got to the end and there was little or no happiness to be found. Then last night I remembered the reason I wanted to tell you about all the stupid outcomes of my procrastination and general disregard for intelligent courses of action: There is one singular incident in which this character flaw saved the day.

I have been meaning to ween James for awhile now. My general rule at the beginning was that I would stop when he could ask for it in a full grammatically correct sentence. We’re not quite there, but getting dangerously close. But, staying true to my parenting style, I’ve put it off because it would involve willpower and other things that are not in my genetic code.

When James split his face open, the first thing I did was call J.D. There needs to be at least one rational adult present when blood loss exceeds what a regular sized band-aid can handle. The second thing I did was latch James’ screaming face, which then ceased to scream. Every now and then, he would pop off and tell me he was bleeding. In case I’d forgotten. By the time J.D. got home, James was all ready to show off his wound and give a live demonstration as to how he got it.

Tip: A small child smeared in blood is a quick ticket through triage.

Anyway, breast milk contains natural pain killers FYI. It’s a medicated smoothie on tap, and the only reason it was on tap is because I PROCRASTINATED. So there.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 6:14 pm

    Our weaknesses are often our greatest strengths! I have also found that procrastination often makes the task I had to do obsolete, so there are some upsides to what most people consider a flaw.

    Breastmilk is truly amazing stuff, and has many uses beyond excellent nutrition!

Leave a Reply

