Skip to content

San Francisco

March 21, 2010
tags:

The 24 hour train ride to San Fransisco was mostly following James down train cars and trying to explain why the walls kept throwing themselves at him. Sometimes he would sit on our laps and read a book or ENJOY THE SCENERY FOR CRYING OUT LOUD. (When I was eight, our family of six took a trip to Ireland and we cruised around the country in an economy rental, all four of us children stuffed into the back seat. I distinctly remember our parents exasperation over the fact that they had paid thousands of dollars to ship us all over there and all we did during the scenic car rides was bicker and play pretend card games with scraps of cardboard we found on the floor. Then one day my mom sat in the back and realized we couldn’t see a thing from back there.)

San Fransisco was one day of sun and one day of torrential rain. Both days we walked the city (or climbed it, I should say) from the moment we left our “European style Pensione” (hotel with bathrooms you line up to use) till the moment we returned.

There was one cable car ride over Russian Hill. Cable cars are operated by angry men who hate tourists. If you have ever seen a cable car being operated on a hill that the locals scale with climbing gear, then you will know that it is very important you do nothing to provoke such men.

The day it rained we walked to The Exploratorium which is a giant science centre approximately millions of kilometers from our hotel. It is also where J.D. would like his cremated remains scattered. He disappeared soon after we got there and every now and then I would hear a squee of excitement from some display on magnetism or something. Then he would show up and say things like “Check it out Claire! It’s a stellated rhombic dodecahedron!”

The sun sort of came out after we left The Exploratorium (which was after the second get-the-hell-out-we’re-closing announcement) and we got a fuzzy glimpse of the Golden Gate bridge and a better one of Alcatraz. We took the train (and by train, I mean 12 hours of bus-train-bus-train) to San Diego the next morning.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaclyn permalink
    March 22, 2010 5:19 am

    I’m reading all your posts with admiration – I’m so impressed you guys are pulling off this kind of trip with James. I’m *already* freaked out about driving from Ontario to Nova Scotia in JULY with my kid.

    Also, I have to admit that reading about your travel adventures has brought me to a new level of envy I hadn’t known I was capable of. 😛

  2. Jane permalink
    March 22, 2010 9:49 am

    We got kicked off the cable car.

  3. Uncad permalink
    March 23, 2010 2:30 pm

    Picky, picky but I know how picky the people who live by the Bay are. The spelling is San Fran-c-isco. I know I know I’m anal retentive.

    • Claire permalink*
      March 23, 2010 2:40 pm

      thanks, Editor in Chief. Noted and corrected.

Leave a Reply

