Skip to content

Angst

April 9, 2010
tags:

James comes with a disclaimer these days: “If you do not meet or exceed my two year old expectations, I will eat your face.” There is, of course, a loophole known as The Complicated Art of Distraction, which you need a license to practice. Some days, I have a PhD in this field. Other days, a certificate made in word processor.

He seems to be laying a foundation for adolescence. I just hope that when he’s sixteen, we won’t still be fighting over the appropriateness of being naked all day long, among other things that challenge social norms.

Oh, you will.

Thanks Universe. Good to know you’re fighting for me.

Oscar’s Dad, ever the optimist, made the point that at least he’s** not out drinking in the woods.

I’m sure he would be, if it weren’t snowing in April. Being unwilling to get dressed is also a deterrent. Probably.

** James. Not Oscar’s Dad.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 7:58 pm

    Eowyn loves to run around naked too, along with wanting to change her clothes every five minutes. I guess it’s the whole independence learning how to get dressed thing, but I get pretty tired of helping her get her shirt on and off. And the crying if we don’t comply! She’s outside naked a lot here (no snow), but if I really want her to be dressed I can always cite the ‘ant clause’, which basically means I remind her that if she wears pants/shoes/shirt the ants can’t bite her. They are a very real menace, with ant hills hidden all through the grass and stingy burny bites.

    I love the photo you took. Very Austin Powers.

    • Claire permalink*
      April 12, 2010 12:44 pm

      James heard about Eowyn’s naked outside adventures and thought “me too” Thanks Asheya. Thanks a lot 😛

  2. gisherie permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:12 pm

    Okay, so it’s not just my recently-turned-two year old (girl in this case) who has suddenly become 1000x more willful and emotionally wound up than she was a few scant months ago? I kept thinking I had the whole parenthood thing down, my baby was such a sweetheart, what were people talking about… Then BAM! And yes, she will easily switch modes from sobs to giggles if I can summon the presence of mind to distract her, but I’m still a bit stunned most times she acts that way, since it’s come on rather suddenly. I feel like I have to relearn parenting all over again.

    • Claire permalink*
      April 12, 2010 12:43 pm

      All of a sudden there is parental strategy involved. I thought I would get a memo or something.

  3. May 31, 2010 4:44 pm

    I have been looking around mumologic.wordpress.com and actually am impressed by the great content material here. I work the nightshift at my job and it really gets boring. I have been coming here for the past couple nights and reading. I just needed to let you know that I’ve been enjoying what I have seen and I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

