Skip to content

The Ghost of Birthdays Past

April 14, 2010
tags:

Helium freaks me out. Helium balloons that are dying freak me out more. This one has been creeping around since James’ party. For a couple of days it would follow us around if we were wearing knitted sweaters. One morning I woke up and it was hovering over my head whispering, “please…just untie my string. The burden is too much.” Now it lingers a couple of inches above the floor stalking the cats and feeling sorry for itself. Ray Kurzweil should take heed. This is what happens when your life is extended by unnatural means.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 4:36 pm

    Be warned: We had a helium balloon at Norah’s first birthday party, and it was STILL hovering after Simon was born, so at least 3.5 or 4 MONTHS later. Creeeeeeepy.

  2. Holly permalink
    April 14, 2010 8:00 pm

    POP IT! We had one with a picture of singing grapes and it would stop and turn to look at you. It followed me downstairs, out the front door, though the lawn. I’d stop then it would stop and turn to look at me. It continued to follow me down the road and to the mail box. I pop it, had enough. Some people say it’s usually the spirit of a child playing with it. Our address at the time was 666 and the house was blessed twice by the original owners, but that is another story.

Leave a Reply

