Skip to content

Thou Shalt not Judge the Boob that Calms Them

May 6, 2010

After shaking off last week’s plague, James is now sporting a double ear infection. I took him to the doctor yesterday afternoon and I thought that telling him about it before hand would be a “good idea.” Nope.

He flipped out as we were parking but thankfully there was some construction going on next door complete with a digger. Yes, James, the doctor has her own digger! It’s for…uh…removing suspicious moles. Maybe, just maybe, she’ll let you drive it! He thought that was all right and let me bring him inside. Then he caught a whiff of antiseptic and started scream pleading to go back to the car. I’ll just watch her drive the digger from in here, thanks.

After a series of intricate toddler negotiations, James agreed to come in on the condition that he be supplied with unlimited amounts of juice and crackers and awesome waiting room books.

All negotiations were off, however, when we actually entered the office of the doctor. I forgot to add that clause. Oh the screaming and the pleading and clinging and the writhing. I finally offered to nurse him so the doctor didn’t accidentally stick the ear thing in his eyeball. That barely did the trick and she managed to diagnose him with the ear infections and a serious case of neurosis.

Then she asked me if I was unable to stop nursing. I waited for her to offer me antibiotics for my “condition.” I was a little surprised that she was openly judging the one thing that made the appointment even close to successful. I wanted to tell her about how James had awoke every two hours screaming the night before and the only thing that came even close to soothing the pain between doses of Tylenol was nursing. Seems a little silly, doctor, to dispose of such a tool.

Here is a photo of James reading “The Wheels on the Bus” to his attentive pupil, Elijah. Apparently the baby on the bus goes round and round…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen permalink
    May 6, 2010 12:06 pm

    Sorry to hear about James’ ear infection Claire – reminds me of JD’s frequent bouts with those when he was little – very painful.

    Sometimes docs don’t recognize “mommy wisdom” when they see it unfortunately. Hope James gets better soon – hugs and kisses from Grandma and Grandpa.

  2. bakerjac permalink
    May 6, 2010 1:02 pm

    What did she mean by “unable”?! That’s judgmental in the most condescending way possible. Ugh. If mama and babe are *both* still happy nursing, then it’s nobody else’s business, even if they have a fancy title like “doctor”. I hope you had a very snide and cutting come-back for her.

    • Claire permalink*
      May 6, 2010 2:09 pm

      Unfortunately, I am one of those people that dissolve in the face of conflict with strangers. I sent her much mental snideness from the safety of my car. One day I’ll grow a back bone.

  3. May 6, 2010 7:39 pm

    Oooh, I am so mad at that doctor! You should totally put the doctor’s name on here–that way we can all beat down her door and tell her about all the benefits of breastfeeding, and that the World Health Organization recommends breastfeeding BEYOND two years old. Exclusive until six months (that means no other food, not even water people!) and then to continue BEYOND two years old. The health benefits are fantastic, the comfort benefits are fantastic, and sometimes it even helps mommy get a better sleep too!

    Anyway, I know what you mean about not having a good comeback, I am so bad at in the moment quick wit. But grrrrrrr…it is totally your choice and James’ choice and there is no downside as long as you both want to continue the breastfeeding relationship, so what is up with making judgemental, discouraging comments? Seriously, post her name here. People should know.

    • Claire permalink*
      May 6, 2010 7:44 pm

      I don’t actually know her name – it was a walk-in clinic. But I agree. Doctors should be accountable for the dumb things they say.

  4. May 7, 2010 1:39 am

    poor James. and therefore poor Claire 😦
    hehe – diggers seem to be amazingly important entities in little boys’ worlds 🙂
    alright – so to try to balance off all you militant pro-boobie people, i wonder if maybe the doctor herself had not such a wonderful time of breastfeeding, and was wondering if maybe Claire was having a tough time switching gears in that department, not being aware that Claire was actually quite happy with continuing to nurse. my wife did alright nursing, but she didnt think it lived up to all the hype some people praised it with. the one thing i can remember just now is how both mom and baby got more sleep when formula was introduced. not substituted, just supplemented. either way – to each his, or her, own 🙂

  5. elena permalink
    May 7, 2010 1:28 pm

    Just tell her that JPII suggested that nursing continue to age 3 (I am not joking, he did make recommendations re. breastfeeding) and that, as a faithful Catholic, you feel that you can’t pick and choose your teachings … and then she can classify you as a religious nut rather than a hippy chick. Good deal? At least she phrased it that way: “Are you unable to stop nursing?” rather than “Is he not able to stop drinking?”

  6. May 8, 2010 10:35 am

    Hi there, I found you via my lovely sister Elena who commented above. I am here to chime in my support — I am still nursing my 1.5 year old and people are always surprised, and usually not in a good way. (Someone, I forget who, recently made a comment to me that they never cease to be amazed how people will negatively judge a mother who does NOT breastfeed an infant, then they will pass exactly as negative a judgment on one who DOES breastfeed her toddler. How true.)

    Anyway there’s two cents from someone who totally supports your decision.

Leave a Reply

