Skip to content

Stick to What You’re Good At

June 3, 2010

The other guy wore a tux. And shaved twice. We were outbid by $9000. Which, if you have to lose, is kind of satisfying. They could have bid $8999 less and still got the house. HA! Sweet retribution.

So. We are not homeowners. But we are, on the other hand, pregnant! See. I told you we’re good at making babies. Take THAT Whitehorse Real Estate market.

I am just finishing up T-1 at almost 13 weeks. It’s been difficult not blogging about how J.D. knew I was pregnant before my period was due (oh hormones. Subtlety is not your thing) or how I wake up with a respectable trimester one gut and go to bed seven months pregnant(I may as well just tape everything I eat to the outside of my belly). All very blog worthy items. I have been looking forward to this freedom to write about embarrassing things on the internet.


We had this ultrasound of mister/miss at 9 weeks just to make sure things were ticking in there. As you can see the baby has it’s very own skip-it. What a fun uterus I have.

We had another (very early) miscarriage in March. (We named the baby Lumen – a unit of light.) So technically, this is our fifth. I always thought I would have at least five. On a roll.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaelyn permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:45 am

    Bidding wars suck – been there, done that and dont like it! On the other hand positive preg tests are fantastic! Congratulations!!!!

  2. bakerjac permalink
    June 3, 2010 10:24 am

    So, so, SO happy for you guys! Congrats on the newest member of your family (and my condolences on the loss of Lumen). Looking forward to following along with this pregnancy. 🙂

  3. Eileen permalink
    June 3, 2010 11:05 am

    This is going to be a fun kid, I can tell. Can’t wait to see grandchild # 2 !!

    Skip-it you say . . . I bet when Jim sees this he will say it looks like a golf club . . ha ha (definitely not a hockey stick though).

  4. Jaelyn permalink
    June 3, 2010 1:11 pm

    Now that you mention it Eileen it sort of does look like a glof club. Could pass for a hockey stick too!

  5. eep6 permalink
    June 3, 2010 7:12 pm

    Congratulations! I’m sorry to hear about your miscarriage(s). Baby looks adorable 🙂

  6. Colleen permalink
    June 4, 2010 4:18 am

    13 weeks! Yahoo! Can’t wait to see you guys!

  7. elena permalink
    June 4, 2010 10:04 am

    Wonderful. I h ave been waiting and wondering. How come my babies don’t have skip-its because truthfully the first thing I thought was, “That baby has a yo-yo.”

    • Claire permalink*
      June 4, 2010 10:59 am

      I have uterine sponsorship from toys R us.

  8. Theresa permalink
    June 4, 2010 3:39 pm

    Congratulations Claire! We are all so happy for you on this end. Sorry about the house, I am sure it would have been a money pit, or something else terrible. Also, so sorry to hear about the loss of Lumen. We will pray this pregnancy goes well.

    We welcomed Sarah Grace into our home yesterday afternoon. It was a 45 minute home birth. She was 7 lbs 11 ounces and right now looks like all Jordan. We miss you guys.

    T

    • Claire permalink*
      June 4, 2010 8:01 pm

      Yahoo! I got the birth announcement. She is beautiful. Jordan makes a very nice 7 lb female. 45 minutes huh? You are one efficient woman.

  9. June 5, 2010 10:13 am

    Congratulations. I think I recognise the skip-it. Also, may I say that I am very impressed with your restraint? I could never wait until the end of the first trimester to make any announcements. Any intuitions on gender yet?

  10. holly permalink
    June 9, 2010 1:00 am

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

