Skip to content

Closing Time, Time to Sign Some Papers and Spend Lots of MooooNEY…

June 8, 2010
tags: ,

Today is closing – our house inspection is this afternoon so unless they tell us that, wait a second, the roof is made entirely of gum wrappers! it’ll all be official and legal and grown up things of that nature. No more fake pretend buying of houses.

We don’t take possession until mid July, but since we technically own the house we can start doing annoying things like hanging our laundry on their telephone line and parking our car in the driveway sometimes.

I call this photo series The Joyful Consumption of Berries.


8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    June 8, 2010 9:24 am

    I’m not going to say how old I am but I just want to say that it still surprises me that I am allowed to do grown up things like buying property and choosing entirely wrong paint colors. Claire once wrote that the terrible twos took her by surprise – she thought she would get a memo. I’m still waiting for a diploma:

    This is to certify that Jean Allen is now ‘all grown up’.

    Issued by the College of Ones Who Look Competent but are Faking It.

  2. Jaelyn permalink
    June 8, 2010 1:32 pm

    must have been good berries! Congrats on the house!

  3. Uncle Dave permalink
    June 8, 2010 4:23 pm

    I guess this means that you’ll be Whitehorseins (Whitehorseists, Whitehorseites, Yukoners) for the near and middle future. Good! That allows me time to save up my popsicle wrappers to pay for a trip up there. I probably won’t recognize a thing from when I was there last (a lost couple of weekends in 1976).

    Congratulations!!!

  4. Daila permalink
    June 8, 2010 11:10 pm

    Wahoo!! Congratulations on becoming homeowners! I’d like to offer you some very wise tips, however we’ve only been homeowners for 3 days and I am sitting in the middle of a fort of unpacked boxes surfing the net. Unpacking is not the most enjoyable task in the world. But when it’s all done, it can stay done for a loooong time. (P.S. watch your husband like a hawk when he packs. Mine packed all the components for the same electronic devices in completely separate boxes… or bags, he can’t remember which. Sigh. Luckily I had a very patient telus installer as I tore through boxes, and or bags. I did not find the right chords but some that kind of worked. phew)

    Enjoy the house!!!

  5. Daila permalink
    June 8, 2010 11:16 pm

    Hey I just MLS stalked your house and it is almost the identical layout to our house. Neat-0!

  6. Theresa permalink
    June 9, 2010 10:02 am

    Oh Yay!!! I am so happy for you guys. A little sad Edmonton is out of the picture. Oh well, I guess we will just have to move up north. Congrats on being grown ups. I still feel 17 most days.

    T

  7. Davida permalink
    June 9, 2010 10:27 pm

    YAY!! That is so exciting!! I was actually just going to get ahold of you and ask where you are staying once the housesitting is done!!!

    So great!!!!!

    Congrats!

  8. Mark T permalink
    June 20, 2010 11:07 pm

    I checked out some of your “home-buying” posts…if it makes you feel any better, in Victoria, houses are mostly around 400 – 500 thousand. I told Megan’s dad we’re going to rent until he kicks the bucket, and we inherit the house. Kind of a layaway plan. He didn’t think it was so funny.

Leave a Reply

