Skip to content

Another Round

June 24, 2010
tags: ,


Last night another ear infection ravaged little James. Tylenol’s life span for these infections is two hours. The other two hours before he gets another dose of magic purple goo is spent glued to my chest. Fortunately, this saves us two hour intervals of pain that makes James want to tear his own head off. Unfortunately, pregnancy makes these two hours feel like I’m being chewed up by shards of broken glass on fire. Sigh.

I think James’ strategy may be to cycle through every known illness while I’m still willing to breastfeed him. My enthusiasm is waning, James, so you better contract something legendary while I’m still in the game.

***

You will likely not see much action here on Tuesdays or Wednesdays for the next while. James and I spend those days with these two punks:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaelyn permalink
    June 24, 2010 12:37 pm

    Hi Claire,

    At the risk of sounding like a doctor instead of a concerned great auntie you can alternate tylenol and advil. This might provide James (and you) with better relief for the earache.

    Hope this helps.

    • Claire permalink*
      June 24, 2010 12:53 pm

      Well, I’d rather take medical advice from a doctor than a some crazy old aunt:) So thanks!

  2. Mary Caudle permalink
    June 24, 2010 7:50 pm

    The 3 mustakateers!….3 babes, each 1 if them beautiful beyond words or description….can you imagine the 3 of them looking at this picture in say, 20 years? Priceless!!!

    Love to them all,
    GG & GG, Jim & Mary

  3. Mary Caudle permalink
    June 24, 2010 7:57 pm

    Spelling corrections for our teachers…..The 3 musketeers….3 babes, each 1 of them beautiful beyond words or description….can you imagine the 3 of them looking at this picture in say, 20 years? Priceless!! We are overwhelmed by these gorgeous children!!

    Love to them all,
    GG & GG, Jim & Mary

  4. Davida permalink
    June 24, 2010 9:06 pm

    Hey Claire,

    Actually, the Dr. told us to do that with Lachlan before, I think it was actually when he had his ear infection. I felt awful dosing him up, but man did it help make his less uncomfortable…

    Hope all is well. I am so excited about your new house. We will have to set up a visit some time.

  5. gish (apparently the only non-related person to post here) permalink
    June 24, 2010 9:26 pm

    I think one of the cool things about your blog, besides the fact that your baby is very close in age as mine, is that you are one of the rare sane mothers of a child very close in age as mine who still breastfeeds. (That, and you are just so fun to read!) I never planned to be breastfeeding a child whose vocabulary is starting to exceed mine, but then I never planned how to stop either. (I call it “parenting by instinct,” though I’ve bandied around the term “maternal intuition,” too.) It’s tough when you see the child all day and she obviously finds it so comforting, even if her requests are sometimes outright orders. Ah well. I shall be disappointed when you stop. As I probably will be when my daughter decides nursing before her prom seems unnecessary.

    I do hope your baby gets well soon. There’s a Korean phrase (or it’s just my parent’s) that when the child is sick, it’s the parents who hurt. So true.

Leave a Reply

