Skip to content

Culture Camp

June 28, 2010

I’ve been solo-parenting since Friday. J.D. is away at a “culture camp”. He is required to take two First Nations related courses from the college here in order to get his permanent Yukon teacher’s certificate. One of the options to satisfy this requirement is a five day culture camp in which he and numerous other teachers -who have also postponed this requirement until they received stern letters from the department – go off into the bush and become, presumably, cultured.

I helped him pack. He needed to bring his own dishes and a notebook for reflecting. I found one of those exercise books that are half lined, half not, in case he wanted to illustrate his reflections. It cost 14 cents. J.D. liked it for that reason only. I also insisted he borrow James’ matching construction site dish ware. He was hesitant until I pointed out that the plate has convenient partitions and hello, sometimes you just don’t want your bannock touching your smoked salmon.

I also packed him the perfect camp towel: embroidered with two cutesy wootsy turtles and my name. Five days is a long time, honey.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    June 28, 2010 3:48 pm

    I guess because I work at a First Nation school and have a weekly culture class that I attend with my students, I take this for granted. If I had to do a 5 day camp I would definitely have to take a few of my students with me. They can do anything in the bush! Anyway, I hope he finds value in his camp and brings as much to the classroom from it as possible. I truly see all my kids shine the most when we are out in culture class.

  2. Jaelyn permalink
    June 28, 2010 6:17 pm

    All I can say is…. well done Claire!

  3. J.D. permalink
    June 30, 2010 11:30 am

    Ha Claire! The plate and bowl had the opposite intended effect… TOTAL CHICK MAGNET!

    And by “chicks” I mean mothers of toddlers.: “How old is your son? Mine is three”

Leave a Reply

