Skip to content

Damp Laundry

September 13, 2010
tags:

In our backyard there is a charred fifteen foot high stump. Fortunately, a clothesline was hung between it and the house to make the whole thing more functional, less ghetto. Even still, I sometimes have to resist the urge to toss my trash in the back yard instead of the garbage receptacle.

On the days that Whitehorse sees the sun, I have faithfully hung our clothes to dry, sparing our thirty year old dryer what is probably back breaking work. I will often give myself a covert pat on the back for saving the environment and also seventy five cents worth of electricity.

The dryer has a timer that only reaches sixty minutes because it has a six shirt capacity. Unfortunately for me, James and I go through more than six shirts a day between the two of us so the capacity has to be ignored. Double unfortunately, that means I have to remember to reset the dryer at some point, otherwise our clothes sit in a damp breeding ground for the week and end up smelling like feet.

This is why I was happy to find that the dryer has an auto-dry setting. An auto-dry setting that has either long expired or was used as a non-functioning gimmick to sell the unit thirty years ago. Kind of like how they put blue LEDs in all appliances now. They make you feel like you’re a part of the future when really you’re not.

Anyway, after setting the load to auto dry, I forgot about it until the following evening (which is quite prompt for me) This is when I discovered that our clothes were definitely done. Twenty four hours in a running dryer will do that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Davida permalink
    September 14, 2010 11:40 am

    That is MORE then hilarious Claire! Is everything of yours the perfect size for James now?

  2. Theresa permalink
    September 14, 2010 1:15 pm

    How were they not on fire!?! Oh my gosh… I think that load cost moren than 75cents!

Leave a Reply

