Skip to content

Happy 27

September 21, 2010

At first I was feeling kind of down about the blandness of turning twenty seven. Late twenties but not close enough to thirty to feel like I really have to make it count. Then J.D. told me that 27 is a fantastic number and that he is super jealous. 27, after all, is a perfect cube and the first composite number not evenly divisible by any of its digits (what?). Therefore, this is probably going to be the best year of my life.

I woke up this morning to post-it notes all over the house thanking me for the various mundane things I do on a daily basis. This was like finding cash taped to the walls because I have come to realize that gratitude is currency in this here paycheck-free career path of mine.

So far in celebration of turning such a top notch number, we had a visit with Oscar and baby Lucy, and then James and I headed over to the airport to watch the Condor take off. This is the giant airplane that delivers and removes all our Germans. We went last week to watch it land and I took a bit of footage, which was as good as footage can get when you’re filming a large hurtling tube through a chain link fence. But James reveres this thirty seconds of video like its going to bring him salvation. This reminds me of the days when he thought airplanes were flying crucifixes.
(waiting for Condor)

We had a little birthday shindig here on Saturday for Colleen, Lucy, and myself. After a bit of experimenting with different sets of friends, we have concluded that we can successfully host a total of six adults (including ourselves) three tots that can walk (possibly more if they are all girls) and at least one immobile infant. Any more than that and we’d have to use a talking stick and tie the children to chair legs. Friends were over for dinner here last week and after a search, we found the 15 month old hanging out in the bathroom sink.

A few photos from the birthday party:
Lucy is going to be one tough chicken hanging around these guys. Hopefully she’ll find an ally at some point: Elijah is expecting a new sibling too (next April)

The boys in their pj’s reading a book sent by James’ great grandma (who unfailingly sends James the BEST books)

Here is Lucy with J.D. just before a feed. She is writing a book in her head called, “You are Not my Mother”

J.D. is making me Pad Thai tonight and I will enjoy it because baby has taken the elevator to the bottom floor which allows me to now eat and breath simultaneously. The new arrangement also allows other simultaneous things, especially when I sneeze. Fun fun.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaelyn permalink
    September 21, 2010 5:38 pm

    You crack me up. Happy birthday! Enjoy the day (and the year!)

  2. Daila permalink
    September 22, 2010 8:07 am

    Happy Birthday!! (Sorry I know it was yesterday but my computer was doing weird things) Have I mentioned how much I love your blog. I’m always so excited when there is a new post. Have a good one!

  3. tom permalink
    September 23, 2010 12:24 am

    belated Happy Birthday! 🙂
    JD is such a geek, it’s cool 🙂
    i saw once a t-shirt on some website that said something like #1 DAD, except instead of DAD it had a bunch of 0’s and 1’s, which was binary for the ASCII codes for the letters DAD – i figure it’d be perfect for JD 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Dinner: Loaves and Fishes. Also Turkey. « mumologic

Leave a Reply

