Skip to content

Belly Art

September 22, 2010
tags: , ,


This was James’ gift to me: a belly tattoo. I love being drawn on and James loves drawing on things that are not paper, so it was awesome for all of us. Until he started hucking capless markers down the stairs. But as you can see, I handled the misbehavior with the parental finesse that comes with being twenty seven.


In other realms, it is J.D.’s and my engageaversary. Five years ago, at my family birthday dinner, J.D. delivered an entire litany of lovely compliments and then got down on his knees (one knee? two? Probably whatever was most practical) and flashed a shiny sapphire in my face. My reaction was similar to the photo above, except less pregnant/outraged and more teary/joyful. He went with a sapphire because it is my birth stone and also to spite the jewelers and their “how much you love her equals how many years salary you should set aside for this purchase” pitch.

There are photos of this occasion but I don’t know where they are and also I had really bad hair. So here’s a photo of the eventual results of the proposal.

Yes, I was that happy. We spent our wedding night giving each other jaw massages.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    September 22, 2010 9:27 pm

    Beautiful pictures Claire, I remember your ring from when we were in school, I always admired it! And still remember you had awesome wedding pictures! 😀

  2. Theresa permalink
    September 23, 2010 9:37 am

    Aww, happy engageaversary and happy birthday Claire. We miss you guys.

    Theresa and Jordan

  3. Davida permalink
    September 23, 2010 4:04 pm

    I love the pictures Claire, especially your face when James is throwing the markers down the stairs. For your other one….amazing post it note gifts. So sweet!!!

Leave a Reply

