Skip to content

Turkey Triumph

October 18, 2010
tags:

Hello! I totally did not die yesterday. Nor did I go into labor or anything else that would have complicated things while there was a large bird roasting in my oven. This dinner was definitely up there in terms of life accomplishments. I might get J.D. to make me a certificate. And laminate it.

Things I did right:
-prepped everything the day before so that on Sunday, I got to clean my bathroom in a leisurely fashion. As opposed to telling people our house didn’t actually come with a bathroom. Sorry.
-constructed a carefully planned schedule for the cooking/baking/basting/whipping/burning etc of all food matter in question
-invited at least one guest who had done all this before and told her dinner was an hour before what I told everyone else.
-invited people that thought to do all the dishes afterward.

Things I did wrong:
-failed to remove gimlets bag from turkey before roasting. I tried to google this to make sure my dinner guests would not perish due to unremoved gimlets but apparently no one else in the world has had this problem.
-had a child that would choose this weekend to experiment with the no-nap lifestyle. (this same child chose to sleep until 8:30 this morning, thus absolving yesterday’s transgression)

Here is the turkey we didn’t roast (however tempting)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Caudle permalink
    October 18, 2010 7:31 pm

    Leaving the paper bag of “bird parts” in the turkey when roasting it is definitely a “right of passage”……now that you’ve done that once, never discard them, just rinse & spread them around in the bottom of the roaster (neck, giblet, heart)…adds so much more richness to the turkey drippings that makes all that wonderful gravy. Congratulations, Claire…..badge well-earned! We’re so proud of you! Luv, G & G

  2. J.D. permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:54 pm

    He certainly gets that expression from his mother (see recent post).

  3. Theresa permalink
    October 19, 2010 7:42 am

    Too funny Claire! This thanksgiving we did a BBQ turkey, which was a first for us (and Jord made it! Double first). Mmmm, turkey.

  4. Davida permalink
    October 19, 2010 10:41 am

    I LOVE the picture of James! So great!!

    Sounds amazing…I haven’t attempted such an event just yet…I offer to make sweet potatoes, shawn does some mushroom caps (totally not T-giving food), and often a gluten-free dessert. The whole she-bang! Ugh!

    Good Work!

    Really got to try to see you and Colleen soon….Lachlan is forever asking me “Where’s James?” I respond with a “At home with his mommy and daddy” he continues the dialogue with “What’s James’ daddy’s name?” I explain “it is JD” to which he follows up…”Who is JD?” and so the conversation goes….

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Dinner: Loaves and Fishes. Also Turkey. « mumologic

Leave a Reply

