Skip to content

Croup: 1, Labor: 0

November 15, 2010

On Saturday, Labor’s little friend, False Labor, had its way with me. Five hours of severely uncomfortable contractions every 2-4 minutes. They began in Canadian Tire at the customer service desk. The chances of major life events beginning in Canadian Tire are pretty good these days. I was trying to get someone to find me the flooring staples we need. The clerk was clearly not going for a customer service medal that night. He mumbled something about them still being in the back, out of reach, under many many boxes. Look, clerk, we need the staples. I do not want to have this kid until our kitchen floor is done BUT I WILL GIVE BIRTH RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU IF I HAVE TO. Someone from upper management appeared with the staples soon after.

When we got home J.D. put in a row of flooring, I made dinner, timed contractions, and imagined how non-awesome it would be for Baby to have to begin life in this ransacked jungle of renovation debris.

The contractions died down after I went to bed and have held their distance since. So there have been no me-related runs to the hospital. But last night James woke up with a seal bark cough and closed airways. Completely terrifying. His puffer pulled him out of it and he eventually fell asleep on the belly, closing off my airways. He woke with the same thing a half hour later. We took him to Emerg (Hi! We’re back!) where he was diagnosed with croup and given some kind of steroid that fixes the airway issue, but destroys the possibility of sleep in the near future. Then they gave him a popsicle. “And here’s some sugar little boy to help you and your parents never ever sleep again.”

But the night turned out to be pretty magical. On the way home we drove up a mountain to watch the the Northern Lights and a few shooting stars. Then James and I watched videos on mute until 3 a.m.

Today has been less magical. Number one statement out of James’ mouth: “Mama I NEED to whine.” I guess I could count not going into labor right now as a little bit of magic.

37 weeks on Tuesday:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen Caudle permalink
    November 15, 2010 5:31 pm

    Ohhhh, I feel for you guys. Sounds like you’re not getting much sleep. Poor James – I hope he is feeling better soon. I guess it is the change in seasons bringing back the upper respiratory issues. You look great Claire (albeit a wee bit tired). Hang in there – hopefully no more false labour. . . .!

  2. November 16, 2010 3:53 am

    i went to the hospital with my croupy son twice, and never want to again unless he’s actually gasping for air. the nebulizer freaked him out so much that he hardly got any of the steroid, but it was enough to keep him up way too much, and it was over all not worth it. now i just treat him with cold air to breathe.

    you sick yet of hearing how you look ready to pop? 😉

  3. Jaelyn permalink
    November 16, 2010 7:16 am

    Hi, you look great! Keep the window in James’ room open a bit for the next few nights – should help with the croup. You can take him outside if he wakes with breathing distress – the cool air helps and most kids get better after 10 mins or so.

    Cant wait to see new baby!

  4. Theresa permalink
    November 16, 2010 12:46 pm

    Oh my. All I can say is I can relate to the false labour… all I can say is try to rest (ha ha) and drink lots of water.. I found that being dehydrated or tiered always brought on contractions (and the two together brought the midwife out two weeks early). And of course you are one beautiful momma.
    T

Leave a Reply

