Skip to content

Chole-whata?

November 21, 2010
tags:

I am practically a doctor now since having diagnosed my own pregnancy related medical condition. I have cholestasis of pregnancy. This means that for the remainder of this pregnancy, which happens to be less than three days, I will continue to rip my skin off in shreds in hopes of relieving The Itch. Tragically, I will never relieve it, unless I can figure out a way to itch from the inside. Believe me, I spend large quantities of time trying to figure out how to do this.

I had this same condition when I was pregnant with James except that I didn’t know it had a name other than Prenatal Torture. They did blood work to try and figure out why I was fantasizing about using a cheese grater on the soles of my feet, but apparently the lab did not RSVP. The postpartum blood balls may have been the result of this condition (in addition to the wrath of my uterus)

This afternoon I went to the hospital for a routine check on Baby’s vitals and mentioned my Wikipedia findings and self diagnosis. My doctor, who I’m sure looooves to work Sundays, ordered blood work and when the results came back positive, she said she would see what she could do about getting me one of those M.D.s for the end of my name.

Anyway, this is just one more reason why I will be having oxytocin for breakfast on Wednesday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. elena permalink
    November 22, 2010 9:41 am

    i am praying for you. i had a friend with the same condition. thank you, mother eve.

  2. eep6 permalink
    November 23, 2010 5:11 am

    That just sounds incredibly, horribly uncomfortable if not torturous. Hope the doc can help.

Leave a Reply

