Skip to content

Living the Good Ol’ Days

December 3, 2010

Remember how a post or two back I seemed to imply that James was adjusting well to being demoted? N-E-V-E-R-M-I-N-D.

To his credit: He’s been a bit sick. To his discredit: Everything else.

No one is allowed to help/comfort/exorcise him except me. Especially when I am obviously occupied with the usurper.

Maybe he’s just mad that his mother has not managed to fully dress him for the past week and a half. (Though I did manage to get a pair of pants on him today that are not made of flannel)

My mum has been here this past week cooking, doing our laundry, cleaning up the trails of mess, shushing a fussy baby and dodging her grandson’s hand grenades of emotion. All in temperatures of -30 C. Heroic.

She flies home on Monday and I am on my own for two weeks until Christmas break. I fully intend on turning all dials to Survival.

That means our house will probably look like this much of the time:

And the extent of my meal prep will end here:

 

And James will spend a little more than the recommended 10 minutes per year of age doing this:

 

But we will survive and James will relearn civility and we will see through the fog of sleep deprivation that these will, at some point in the future, be remembered as the good ol’ days.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Elena permalink
    December 3, 2010 5:24 pm

    This too shall pass. Jasper will survive as will James and, amazingly, so will you. Nevertheless, the prospect of grandma heading home is always daunting. I fully remember standing on the top stair of our apartment’s fire escape and watching my mom leave as I held two 2 week old twins in my arms. Thankfully, I can now laugh. And, by the way, I am still praying for you.

Leave a Reply

