Skip to content

Dairy, It’s Over Between Us.

January 18, 2011
tags: ,

Dear Jasper,

I wouldn’t give up cheese for just anyone.

love,

Mama.

******

Jasper, I’m afraid, is sensitive to dairy. This is tragic. No butter, no cheese, no errant bowls of cereal throughout the day. However, the sacrifice has produced a much more placid baby.  I realize that having a cheese sandwich in one hand and a screaming child in the other is no way to live.

It’s hard to remember sometimes. The other day James left half a grilled cheese on his plate and I started to eat it because I’m one of those moms that mindlessly eats her children’s left overs. I once read in a parenting magazine that this is the one habit that will bring you and your mommy weight loss goals DOWN. Apparently neither James nor parenting magazines care about the starving children in Africa. You are welcome, Africa.

I was really really enjoying the grilled cheese when my mom walked into the room, screeched, put me in a headlock and ordered me to spit. I can still taste the buttery cheesiness and it haunts me.

But my failed attempts at living dairy free are the least of Jasper’s problems right now. This is his life at the moment: Eat, cough, projectile vomit. Repeat.

I was the last one standing around here. Now I’m more leaning, slightly hunched. J.D. and James went over to Vancouver to van-hunt so it’s just me and Jasper, feeling sorry for ourselves, tossing the Kleenex box back and forth, not eating dairy. Boo hoo.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 5:52 pm

    Claire, you got a talent – you can describe the saddest situation in a funny way 🙂

  2. Claire permalink*
    January 18, 2011 7:27 pm

    Yes! Thank you for confirming that this is, in fact, the saddest situation.

  3. Theresa permalink
    January 18, 2011 9:00 pm

    Hey Claire. I have one thing to say: It is all worth it. Coming from a cheese lover, and I mean LOVER (especially fancy cheeses like goat and bree…) I have grown to not miss dairy much at all. I have become a margarine baker (never thought I would not use butter). In exchange I went from the fussiest baby (who also had bloody poops) to literally the happiest, easiest baby on the block. She is a dream. But it took 3 weeks to get out of my system. Hang in there. It is worth it. PS. When you were talking about Jasper’s fussiness it took all my strength not to email you to go off dairy (at least to try that). Just because I figured the last thing you needed was another piece of advice. :o)

    • Claire permalink*
      January 18, 2011 9:17 pm

      Theresa, you can give me advice any day.

  4. elena permalink
    January 21, 2011 12:46 pm

    Way to go and it will probably pass. It is hard to avoid the mindless eating but you certainly don’t look like a weight-loss candidate. I went off dairy with the twins – can’t remember how long – but it all passed. I think that life does that.
    And speaking of advice: Theresa: try coconut oil (yes, I am an enthusiast). It’s a natural fat, has incredible properties (including that of immune boosting) and is wonderful for breast milk.
    And, yes, Claire, you are very, very droll.

Leave a Reply

