Skip to content

He Paved Paradise

August 31, 2011

This used to be a wet land. So it goes.*

This is a little paper city project James and I have been developing over the past few weeks. The idea comes from Made By Joel, a crafty dad-artist-blogger. James asked me to make him some parking lots and I was like, “don’t you want some trees or a pedestrian friendly plaza?” and he was like, “No. Parking lots. There’s no profit in trees and pedestrian friendly plazas.”  They’re recycled paper parking lots -green points for us!

*So it goes: If you can guess what book I am reading right now, I will send you your very own eco-friendly parking lot.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Phil permalink
    August 31, 2011 10:20 pm

    its not something by Vonnegut is it? He always adds phrases like that to the end of a paragraph. “And so on.” My quick, no google internet search guess is, Breakfast of Champions.

    Love the paper town! Love you guys!
    Phil

    • Claire permalink*
      August 31, 2011 10:54 pm

      You are *this* close to the most incredible prize you’ve ever won. Yes to Mr.Vonnegut, no to Breakfast of Champions.

  2. Phil permalink
    September 1, 2011 8:16 pm

    aagghh to be so close! i’ve only read two others… my second guess, assuming there are no rules against a second, is Slaughterhouse Five. By the way, if you haven’t read Breakfast of Champions yet, you must! It’s amazing! Kind of like his other books. All that I’ve read are amazing. What do you think of it so far?

    • Claire permalink*
      September 1, 2011 8:38 pm

      Yes! You will not be sorry you were the one and only contestant. I am almost finished and I think I might have to read it again because its one of those books that makes me feel like I should be writing an essay on it. It’s hilarious and sad – hilariously sad or sadly hilarious. Not sure yet. So it goes.

  3. Phil permalink
    September 1, 2011 9:03 pm

    yes exactly! he’s such a fresh writer…and by that i mean unique. and there’s something completely unashamedly honest about everything, even the made-up, hilarious stuff.

    I actually didn’t ‘read’ Slaughterhouse 5, I listened to an unabridged audio book of it. If that kind of thing works for you, and you do indeed want to have another go at it, I’d actually recommend the audiobook, read by Ethan Hawke. The voice he affects for the narration is really, really something. And so on.

  4. Jean permalink
    September 2, 2011 8:11 pm

    Does Phil get a parking lot?

Leave a Reply

