Skip to content

Sunday Dinner

September 2, 2011

J.D. decided that he is going to be responsible for Sunday dinners this year. So last saturday evening he spent hours on the internet assembling a menu and asking me if we have things like fennel and anything resembling chocolate liqueur. He finally settled on goat cheese, kalamata olive and roasted red pepper crostinis, a very involved lasagna, caesar salad with dressing and croutons from scratch, and a 3-layered (in the style of) tiramisu cake. No biggie. And I was like, “yes, this is definitely a biggie. You had better invite some guests to witness your rise or demise, my friend.”

He started at eleven a.m. and wouldn’t let me help. He also got mad when I sent James in to help. The only hiccups were almost entirely my fault. For example, when he was making a grocery list the night before, I told him we had many ingredients that we did not actually have.

“I thought you said we had crushed tomatoes”
“We do.”
“These are whole tomatoes.”
“I see. Well, I guess that’s better than needing whole tomatoes and only having crushed. Yes?”

“I thought you said we had lots of red peppers”
“I did? We had two green peppers. But I used them. You ate them for lunch, remember?”

Then he asked me how long he needed to broil the bread for the croustinis and I said some number of minutes that resulted in a delicate, aromatic layer of charcoal beneath the goat cheese, kalamata olives and non-existant roasted red peppers.

In the end, everything was blow-your-mind delicious. J.D. can officially do anything. But he asserts that some things only need to be done once.

(The cake turned into a pre-birthday cake for our friends Sara and Phil’s soon to be born babe. This is because James cannot conceptualize a cake that is not a birthday cake. Why would you have a cake and NOT light a candle,sing, and then blow out the candle? Grown ups are weird.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    September 2, 2011 8:00 pm

    Every Sunday?? J.D. you are more of a man than that whus in the aftershave ad.

Leave a Reply

