Skip to content

J.D.’s Birthday

October 14, 2011

Yesterday J.D. celebrated his twenty-seventh birthday by having back to back parent-teacher interviews from 4 pm until 8:30 pm. Plus he was super depressed because he told his students he was turning forty-five and no one called him on it. Happy Birthday J.D.! You can start untucking your shirt!

I got J.D. new underwear for his birthday. I’m just going to put that out there. But heck, when you’re forty-five, that’s all you really want anyway, right?

I also had his family and friends email me reasons why they love him. I had vague ideas about assembling these into some kind of arts and craftsy type thing (as you can tell, I put inordinate amounts of thought into this) but while I love the arts and the crafts, I end up blaming most of my attempts in this area on James. So instead, I dug out an old notebook and for the next twenty-seven days  I will record a love blurb from one of his adoring fans into this book. (By the way, family and friends, if you still haven’t sent me your love blurb, you have twenty six days to do so. I deserve a love blurb for making this such a pressure-free assignment)

I highly recommend this exercise if you’ve forgotten that your husband is more than just a fellow defensive lineman.

James drew J.D. a couple of pictures. The first is a “Winter Tree”

The second is  “Space”, which I have labelled in case your astronomy is a little rusty.

And here is a third, “James riding a Bicycle”, which was not drawn for J.D.’s birthday but it’s one of J.D.’s favorites.

J.D. was not in the mood for cake last night (Those calories don’t just go away when you’re forty-five). This was great because it gave James a chance to mush a few smarties into it this afternoon.

One for the cake...

One for me...

Happy Birthday Husband!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen permalink
    October 15, 2011 2:05 pm

    James is getting to be a great artist, and looks totally delighted with that cake (I’m guessing it meant more to him than it did to JD!!).

    JD, you still look pretty young to us – maybe when you get to 45 they’ll mistake you for being 27!

  2. Jaelyn permalink
    October 15, 2011 8:23 pm

    You dont look 45…but then I havent reached that ancient age so what do I know? Happy birthday old fart…just in case I was wrong and you do look 45!

Leave a Reply

