Skip to content

Inside Out (Part I)

November 2, 2011

Last year around this time, James was really into volcanoes,  so I turned him into a volcano for Halloween.

This year, James is really into the digestive system (E is for esophagus! R is for rectum!) So I turned him into the digestive system (plus bonus organs) for Halloween.

As you can probably tell from his matching expression in each photo, he cannot believe how awesome I am when it comes to fulfilling his Halloween dreams. I made the organs with felt and sharpies. The brain is felt glue gunned to an old bra cup (from a bra that only fits me for three days after I give birth) and attached to his head with the strap. He saw me hacking up the bra and asked if I was making his brain out of a boobie thing. James, you would be surprised by the number of guys out there with brains made out of boobie things.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Phil permalink
    November 2, 2011 10:26 pm

    wow. just, wow. was it his idea for the organ costume? that is truly amazing work! if you ever need extra income, I’m fairly certain you could find many people interested in your creative costume creations! cool beans!

  2. Colleen Grandy permalink
    November 2, 2011 10:30 pm

    Jeff was less shocked by the bra brain and more shocked that James is wearing a visible colon. He was also incredibly impressed (as always) with your artistry.

    So am I! Nice work!

    Also, I can’t believe you did this while you had a stomach virus. You are superwoman!

  3. Davida permalink
    November 2, 2011 11:10 pm

    Great post! Note:Lachlan calls them nipple things. Other note: I loved the costume, he is the only kid ( besides my own) that I took a picture of at cgc.

  4. November 2, 2011 11:12 pm

    Love the bra brain joke. James looks quite stupified by the whole thing. I think the creative costuming is more for your satisfaction than his. Love it, love it, love it!

  5. bakerjac permalink
    November 3, 2011 5:35 am

    I don’t know how to tell you how much I love that costume – and this post (especially the last line).

  6. judy permalink
    November 3, 2011 10:36 am

    ah ha ha ha ha!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Mary Caudle permalink
    November 3, 2011 12:01 pm

    James is such a precious wonderful child. His facial expression mimics an uncanny “chip off the ol’ block” expression in this photo! We love the accompanying lessons so matter-of-factly incorporated at any opportunity! James will surely have a good laugh at this in his future! xoxo, GG & GG

  8. Jaelyn permalink
    November 3, 2011 12:25 pm

    Is James sporting a horseshoe kidney on the right?

  9. Andrea permalink
    November 3, 2011 1:09 pm

    Rock on. You are fantastic and I think it is a shame that we don’t live closer.

  10. Janice permalink
    November 3, 2011 8:22 pm

    hahahaha his expression tells it all! hahaha you are awesome Claire!

  11. tom permalink
    November 4, 2011 12:50 am

    wow – that is awesome, Claire 😀
    the organs thing looks great – they have something similar at my son’s preschool to teach the kids about human anatomy – but you made it yourself!
    i’m totally impressed byt the volcano plume hat – totally awesome! 🙂

  12. Amanda permalink
    October 28, 2015 8:54 am

    What fabric do you used for the volcano?

    • Claire permalink*
      October 28, 2015 10:33 am

      I just used an old sheet and attatched it to a hoop that I made at the bottom to make it splay out. I painted the lava on with regular kids paint.

Trackbacks

  1. Doctor Kit | Growing Fireweed

Leave a Reply

