Skip to content

Inside Out (Part II)

November 7, 2011

I should change the name of this blog to “Someone’s Puking. Surprise, Surprise.” Usually, it has nothing to do with me since my immune system is clearly superior to all of the men in this house. Also, my mom-contract states that I’m not actually allowed to notice if I get sick. Penalties include the exponential growth of both the laundry pile and my children’s immediate needs.

However, last Sunday morning I woke up and NOTICED. It is eight days later and the laundry pile is still kicking my tush.

On Monday I had recovered enough (mustered up sufficient amounts of denial) to take James out trick or treating and then to a pumpkin hunt with Oscar and Elijah. But after four or five houses and two or three pumpkins he told me he just wanted to have some Tylenol and go to bed. Amen brother.

That night I woke up to Jasper projectile vomiting into my face, close range.

The next night I went to Emerg for an I.V. and a little P & Q.  Seriously: I read a book while nurses brought me pre-warmed blankets. Hello spa experience. There was even a little umbrella sticking out of the saline bag.

We’re all better now and ready for the next round.

Do not mess with this digestive system. My spleen has a black belt.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tom permalink
    November 8, 2011 12:40 am

    glad you guys are all better. the only thing worse than havin sick kids is being sick while the kids are sick. like i said – glad you guys are all better 🙂

  2. bakerjac permalink
    November 8, 2011 5:42 am

    I was totally feeling bad for you (understanding the whole Mommies-don’t-get-sick-days BS) until I read the part about the warmed blankets. That is always the best part of a c-section: the toasty warm blankets they pile on me to make me stop convulsing and vibrating. Soooo comfy. (How did a post about you being sick make me nostalgic for c-sections? Something is WRONG here.)

  3. elena permalink
    November 8, 2011 9:55 am

    Amazing how the pre-warmed blankets bring out the comments. My absolute favourite part of labour and delivery is when the baby comes out and they rush those blankets to me to, (guess what, Jac?), make me stop convulsing and shaking (not joking). I often dream about those blankets – they are a tremendous comfort. And, Claire, I have been on an IV at the ER so many times that I have come to savour the rest and reassurance that come when the IV begins and I feel that cool goodness begin its trek up my arm into my shoulder and onward to the rest of my innards. When I feel the first sensation of coldness in my vein, I place my other arm over my eyes and check out, and I know that all will be well. p.s. Is this just a stomach flu? Mine isn’t – wait for the blog announcement. (We’ll see if Jaclyn catches that one.)

    • Claire permalink*
      November 8, 2011 2:15 pm

      Oh Happy Day! A big HCG high five to you! Mine was just the flu. I’d like to usher Jasper out of his babyhood before I start making more…however, if I could make emerg, warm blankets, and saline cocktails a regular part of my next pregnancy, I might not put such a delay on the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

