Skip to content

Black Sunrise

December 14, 2011

This is a photo of the sunrise yesterday, circa 10 a.m.


This is a painting James did of the sunrise yesterday. Alternate title: The Collective Mood in Our House on Monday.

Yesterday was the Canada Post deadline for mailing stuff if you want it there by Christmas and don’t want to pay shipping fees that cost more than your car. (Awhile ago I had to mail some cash to France and I asked about the express post/registered mail options as a means of security. SEVENTY FIVE DOLLARS, MINIMUM. Then I asked about standard post. $1.74. I stuck a seventy five dollar piece of tape on the back and went standard. That’s nice Claire. Why are you mailing cash to France? Guys. Have you not heard about the economic crisis over there? Europe needs us. Also, we sold our French couch surfer’s scooter for him after he went home.)

Anyway, I don’t do things unless I’m under uncomfortable amounts of pressure, like Canada Post deadlines. What I’m trying to say is that my unimpressive sleep record was further handicapped by all the crafting and wrapping and addressing I should have done earlier than the last second. The most important and devastating part of this story is that there was not a coffee bean on the premises Monday morning. My parenting was more serious than usual yesterday.

Now, let us turn to happier things. Sunday Dinner was Snowpan-cakes.

That is supposed to be a sausage broom stick but it looks more like a giant meat arm. How terrifying, JAMES.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Theresa permalink
    December 14, 2011 8:26 am

    Claire, you are awesome. Not only do you make me laugh but I get great ideas, like frosty the pancake. Thanks!

  2. Tiziana - a couchsurfer permalink
    December 14, 2011 10:11 am

    Hey Family Caudle!
    I love James’ painting! And thanks for reminding me of Europe’s financial crisis 😉 in this hilarious way. Take care, Tiziana

  3. Phil! permalink
    December 14, 2011 10:18 am

    love those pancakes! are those tiny peanut butter cups? they look like it.

    Say Claire, I recently sent some money overseas as well and used Paypal – after doing some investigating it seemed like the least expensive option…as long as the recipient can create a paypal account (which I think most people can), they can have the money withdrawn from a bank of their choice. The fee was something like $1.50. And paypal, as far as internet goes, is pretty trustworthy…

  4. Jean permalink
    December 14, 2011 10:34 am

    If I didn’t have my morning coffee, I’d paint a sunrise like that too.

Leave a Reply

