Skip to content

Hair Hack

February 25, 2012

The last time I got my hair cut, it was on the patio of Joe, our seventy-something ex-pat couch-surfing host in Mulege, Mexico. I can’t remember how we decided that every one of us, excluding the hairless baby, could really use a hair cut, but Joe – who was happily on his second scotch – wasted no time calling his stylist to request a haircut-o en mass, por favor. Ten minutes later Maria appeared out of the bushes with a cape and various cutting instruments. James and J.D. had maintenance trims, Joe had his scalp buzzed and his rat tail coiffed, and I had her remove my split ends – which is the extent of the pressure I will put on any stylist regardless of their training.

My hair does not inspire. It is a deflated collection of unworkable thread and it makes hair professionals angry. Maria didn’t seem too phased by it, but that’s probably because she had just coiffed a rat tail thirty years in the making.

We paid her the equivalent of about six U.S. dollars each, which was well above her asking price.

I have since come to realize that cutting my hair is more of an amputation exercise rather than an elaborate surgical procedure. Going to a salon is therefore like paying for a triple by-pass when all you really need is someone with a saw and a bottle of iodine.

Sooooo, last weekend I told J.D. to do a little research. He googled things like “how to cut wife’s hair” but the results tended to be fail stories rather than tutorials. Somehow he stumbled upon this product, the CreaClip:

 

He showed me the ad, as a joke I think, but the CreaClip is suspiciously similar in name and shape to the IkeaClip, and we have a whole drawer full of those!

J.D. has never cut hair in his life and I just wanted him to have a starting point. Plus I do not have a history of good judgement when it comes to in-the-moment decisions about my hair (the time I spontaneously decided to have my head shaved at a Cops for Cancer event comes to mind. I did raise $200 in a little less than twenty minutes.)

Unfortunately, no charities benefited when J.D. did this:

There was a moment or two of horror after the initial cut. The IkeaClip method definitely has its drawbacks but nothing a little blending (?) couldn’t fix. At least I think that’s what he was doing back there between curses. I mean prayers.

One week later, and I am still of the opinion that this is the best haircut I have ever had.

Happy Ending. Phew.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    February 25, 2012 1:34 pm

    I love you guys and think this is a fantastic post. You look gorgeous 🙂

  2. Eileen permalink
    February 25, 2012 1:39 pm

    That’s an edgy look for you Claire . . . you must really trust JD!

    • Claire permalink*
      February 26, 2012 10:14 pm

      I tried to imagine that my head was a circuit board. That gave me a lot more confidence in his abilities.

  3. February 25, 2012 2:10 pm

    Looks good to me. But then again I don’t wake up next to you every morning.

    • Claire permalink*
      February 26, 2012 10:16 pm

      Oh believe me, it looks even better after I’ve slept on it all night (that was a joke. I never sleep all night.)

  4. Davida permalink
    February 25, 2012 3:09 pm

    Looks pretty spectacular! I think you should send it to Ikea so they can advertise their Universal Clips

    • Claire permalink*
      February 26, 2012 10:10 pm

      Maybe they’ll sponsor this post…

  5. Jean permalink
    February 25, 2012 7:58 pm

    It’s about time, you guys. Way to go: to Claire for being willing to accept the consequences of the plunge and to JD for plunging.

    Knowing JD, I have no doubt that the next hair cut post will feature an Ikea pants hanger with a small level duct taped to it.

    • Claire permalink*
      February 26, 2012 10:14 pm

      now there’s an idea.

  6. Mary-Anne permalink
    February 25, 2012 8:04 pm

    Claire – you are living my life from last week! the last time I got a hair cut was before Aylah was born… shes turning two in 6 weeks…
    My hairdresser (also known as Rachel) moved away and thus ended my haircuts. I too stumbled upon the crea-clip and searched my kitchen junk drawer for an ikea clip, but only found tiny ones that most definitely would NOT fit all my hair. So I figured my free stylin’ would do better than husbands cutting abilities (sorry, Phil), and am pleasantly surprised! Will do it again for sure 🙂 This post made me feel normal… stuff like this happens in other households too?! so, thank you 😉

    • Claire permalink*
      February 26, 2012 10:09 pm

      HAHA! Great (or…?) minds think alike. I am honored to be included in your definition of normal. Oh, and speaking of Rachel, I sure hope she doesn’t read this blog because one time she had to fix a little mess I’d made on J.D.’s head and she made me promise to never pick up another pair of haircutting scissors again. I guess it wasn’t me holding the scissors…

  7. Theresa permalink
    February 25, 2012 10:37 pm

    Just in case we decide to follow in your footsteps… did it all come off with one cut/clip? Do you cut under or over the clip? I just have so many questions…!

    • Claire permalink*
      February 26, 2012 10:02 pm

      Hi Theresa! J.D. said he kind of had to saw through it – as evidenced in the second photograph. He recommends using clippers. He used two of the long white clips (for grip?) and he cut between them. If you somehow get Jordan on board, he should be prepared to do some blending. Neither one of us know why this worked out as well as it did. Usually the universe conspires against the end results of this kind of behavior. Let me know if you have any more questions. Although I feel like I’ve told you everything I know.

      • Theresa permalink
        February 27, 2012 6:31 pm

        Hey, thanks for the tips! I tryed my bangs today on my own and I’m happy with them. I cut them with a feathering sort of cut so it wouldn’t look blunt. I think I might be brave enough to let Jord have a go. I have a lot of length right now so maybe we’ll start with a bit and see how it goes. So exciting, the prospect of saving some dough. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Seventh Dadless Day | Catholic Canada

Leave a Reply

