Skip to content

The Seventh Dadless Day

April 25, 2012

Jasper and James have been in one giant bad mood for the past few days. Here’s a little home video I took this morning:

This afternoon Jasper found an elastic and kept trying to stick it in his hair.  I created a little blonde geyser out of his bangs and his mood did a complete one-eighty.  I guess being poked in the eyeballs all day by crusty spears of hair can put a person on edge. Time to bring out the IkeaClip.

I think the solution for James’ dark moments will be a little more complex. Maybe a pair of fancy shoes and a facial?

The public outpourings of emotion are starting to break me. He’s like a hyper sensitive smoke alarm that has no reset button. I try my best to lovingly wave a damp tea towel next to his sensors but sometimes I come very close to removing his batteries. One day I will call the fire department on him. Maybe that’s his goal…

If you’re sitting there recalling your own public smoke alarm story, please share. There is security in numbers.

Sixty three and a half hours left.

P.S. I love you James. When you tell me that tomorrow will be a happier day, I believe you.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jemé permalink
    April 26, 2012 8:18 am

    Sending you a huge big interwebz hug. Is it warm enough to lock them out of the house in the backyard? I’m only joking — not really. That’s how my Mom handled it 🙂

    One of my personal low Mom moments was I lost my younest son at a Safe Kids Fair. Ironic and very embarrassing.

    • Claire permalink*
      April 27, 2012 8:32 am

      It’s warm enough to throw them outside, but I worry that someone will call the cops on my sparring children.

  2. Theresa permalink
    April 26, 2012 12:37 pm

    Jordan says Sarah is our resident protestant. She protests mass in the most embaressing ways a 22 month old can think of. One time Isaiah threw up all over the place in a grocery store. That is all I can think of now, but I am sure many more examples will come to mind over the next day.

  3. Cynthia Barco permalink
    April 27, 2012 8:17 am

    Kyle has been gone for weeks at a time since we are in the process of moving to Victoria and I can feel your pain and exhaustion. Don’t know how you can have the brain power to build a truck out of square foam mats let alone doing it at 7:30 am!! But then again, your whole family is extremely creative.
    The thing I’ve noticed most with him gone is not that they ask for him but that they are a lot more cranky and emotional for no good reason (only the 2 and 3 year old. The 7 month old has been great.) Hope the last few days fly by for you and then you can look forward to a happy reunion!!

    • Claire permalink*
      April 27, 2012 8:30 am

      My kids are exactly the same way. They mention Dad in passing but it’s more in their general outlook on life that is affected. If I had three kids, there would be no foam truck. And there would be goldfish for breakfast lunch and dinner.

Leave a Reply

