Skip to content

Sleep Solstice

June 20, 2012

A timely solstice post:

I thought you might enjoy a sleeping arrangement update. As you can tell, a few things have changed. For the better or for the worse? This is still up in the air. Floating around like a giant mosquito who may or may not have already sucked your blood. James is now sleeping in our room on Jasper’s crib mattress on the floor. Jasper is now sleeping in James room on James’ bed. This is only the latest configuration of many. After the initial configuration titled, “let’s put them both in the same bed because how cute is that”, several other configurations have transpired as follows:

James at one end of his bed, Jasper at the other.

Jasper in his crib, me in the basement bedroom. James in his bed.

Jasper on the floor on his crib mattress beside James’ bed. James in his bed.

Jasper on the floor on his crib mattress at the end of  James’ bed. James in his bed.

James in the basement bedroom, Jasper on the floor on his crib mattress at the end of  James’ bed.

James in our bedroom on the crib mattress beside the crib, Jasper in James’ bed, me in James’ bed.

Present configuration: James in our bedroom on the crib mattress beside the crib, Jasper in James’ bed. ME IN MY OWN DANG BED.

There are certain benefits to where we are now. For instance, when Jasper wakes up at five o’early, I can hear him whining for me but he also seems to content to rearrange James’ bedroom furniture for forty five minutes. (As opposed to standing in his crib screaming and bending iron rods with his angry angry mind because I have the nerve to pretend I’m still asleep).

James announced today that when it is summer, Jasper will be sleeping in his crib and he will be sleeping in his own bed again. If sleeping past five means I have to cancel summer, then I have to cancel summer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Judy permalink
    June 21, 2012 9:03 am

    Ha ha I remember those days oh so clearly inspite of the mental fog I was in due to sleep deprivation! …… This too shall pass and I will pray that it will be soon 🙂

  2. Theresa permalink
    June 25, 2012 1:12 pm

    I commiserate with you Claire. Sarah likes to wake up at 5 o’early too. This followed by me ranting “Clare is asleep, Isaiah is asleep, mommy is asleep, daddy is asleep, Go. TO. SLEEP!!” She doesn’t seem to like my logic, and our house looks like a grow-op with tin foil on her windows in a desperate attempt to block all forms of light (I still can’t figure out how to shut those stupid birds up). I’m with ya Claire. None of us parents know what the heck we are doing. We are making it up as we go.

Leave a Reply

