Skip to content

Thirty-Six

February 22, 2013

Since the last time I checked in, things got a little exciting in the pregnancy department. There was a couple of weeks of precautionary bedrest (due to a possible case of vasa praevia) and then a  jaunt to Vancouver where I was either going to stay and be c-sectioned at 35 weeks or sent home with a ticket to get off the couch. I got the ticket! But I have to say that bedrest (when your lovely mama is able and willing to leave civilization to be with you) is actually quite therapeutic. I really *want* to tackle the laundry that is chasing my children down the hallway but, doctor’s orders, I guess I’ll just have to lie here on the couch and sketch my feet for a couple more hours.  I have now resumed my regular duties, the most commanding of which is shredding my itchy exterior. The severity of the obstetric cholestasis has ebbed and flowed over the past few weeks but it’s getting a little more relentless these days.  I am now almost 36 weeks and Little Mister is apparently ready to roll (or slide effortlessly, preferably). If he doesn’t come on his own, I will be induced between 37 or 38 weeks.

belly1

belly2

 I realized that I  have close to zero pictures of  my belly this pregnancy so James helped me out the other day.

bedrestsmall

 James getting the hang of bedrest.

handmodel

This is the only photo I have of my mum while she was here. Launching James’ hand modelling career…? “Attitude, James, more attitude.”

angrymansmall

This little guy is James’ signature drawing these days: always p.o.’d about something , hands in the air with disgust.

angrysnowman

We’ve had some moderate temperatures these days and the snow was conducive to doing something other than being lame, so J.D. and the boys made a snow man. The desiccated frost-bitten carrot nose is from the snow man they tried to build a week earlier. That one’s eyes were made of frozen blackberries. He looked way more forbidding than this guy when we had a couple of days of above zero temperatures and his eyes started to “bleed”. I was done with snowmen when the boys came in one day and told me they’d eaten his bleeding eyes.

jamesnow


Jaspersnow

birthday cake

This week was full of family and friends’ birthdays so we made a commemorative birthday cake to honor them all.

wood1small

We started installing a wood stove in September. We’re an entire season off schedule with that. But, there is some impressive scaffolding set up next to the exterior chimney and four cords of wood piled in our driveway which makes us look like we’re on the ball. For next winter.

wood3small

wood2bwsmall

 

wood4small

5 Comments leave one →
  1. MomC permalink
    February 22, 2013 1:05 pm

    Glad I saw this post – it reminded me I need to pack my heavy duty winter boots! So glad things worked out as they did. We’re all getting excited for the big event!

  2. Mary Caudle permalink
    February 22, 2013 1:17 pm

    …We love all the black & whites of the “3 bushmen”, especially the first 2 of JD and JD & James with the serious expressions…looks like circa early 1920’s!!!

    …and then the beautiful smiles on the “3 bushmen” after their day’s work done…perfectly gorgeous photos all telling a wonderful story!

    G & G, GG & GG

  3. Andrea permalink
    February 22, 2013 1:54 pm

    The bleeding eyes!!! I love you guys!

  4. February 23, 2013 1:51 pm

    🙂 🙂 🙂
    ❤ ,<3, ❤

  5. February 23, 2013 8:08 pm

    So exciting that number three will soon be there! (Shawn is excited that he inadvertently made your blog post)

Leave a Reply

