Skip to content

Cancel the Stork!

March 2, 2013

My uterus put my liver in a head-lock which then obediently produced some stellar numbers at this morning’s blood draw. This was welcome news, as I could not really figure out how I was going to own labor on only three hours of sleep.

Between the hours of 12:30 am and 4:30 am, this is what an MRI of my brain would have looked like:fireworks

And I also scratched away my epidermis during that time.

So now, all you pray-ers, a non-induced labor is at the top of my list of desires, please. Thank you from the bottom of my fundus!

If natural labor is not part of the Master Plan for us, the new baby-day is Tuesday.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    March 2, 2013 4:52 pm

    Hey, all best wishes and good thoughts your way from a fellow Canadian (living in Scotland, but my Scottish wife wants to live in the Yukon… go figure… and slightly off topic, it’s lovely to hear a Canadian voice in your posts–do you also get proper dill pickles there? We don’t here, and it’s one of the big things I miss 😉 ). You can do it!
    Thinking of you and your family + newbaby, Nick
    PS. Absolutely awesome blog.

    • Claire permalink*
      March 2, 2013 10:02 pm

      Thanks Nick! I will eat an entire jar of proper dill pickles on your behalf, if you like.

  2. March 2, 2013 5:01 pm

    We’ll keep at the new prayer intention. And, don’t worry about owning labour on any amount of sleep. It is truly amazing what the body can do on adrenaline – with or without sleep.

    • Claire permalink*
      March 2, 2013 10:03 pm

      Your words are comforting Elena given your credentials!

  3. Andrea permalink
    March 2, 2013 9:02 pm

    Oh Claire! Glory to God! May He grant you a smooth and healthy delivery.

  4. uncad permalink
    March 2, 2013 9:51 pm

    Claire, you are a blessed soul. Your take on what would be a terrifying ordeal (for me) is so very funny. Your MRI vision is hilarious.

  5. Phil and the fam permalink
    March 3, 2013 10:44 am

    Claire, J.D., James and Jasper, we are all rooting for you guys and the new dude. Thoughts and prayers comin’ atcha. Can’t wait to cuddle the new Caudle.

  6. March 3, 2013 11:30 am

    A word of encouragement- each subsequent labour and delivery is faster thank the good Lord BUT the after pains, especially while nursing are worse. I found three the EASIEST because the first two occupy each other and are happy to have your attention and simply verbal interaction. I am proud to say I helped or had contact with four other people besides the new baby one moment

  7. Theresa permalink
    March 4, 2013 9:29 pm

    Claire, you have prayers coming your way from Edmonton!!!

Leave a Reply

