Skip to content

Five and a Few Other Things

March 27, 2013

James turned five on Saturday. A whole hand full of fingers.

birthday3sm

birthday1sm

He had definite ideas about what his birthday should look like.  He wanted a chocolate pan(birthday)cake for breakfast, he wanted a game of  pin the something on the something, he wanted to invite everyone in the universe to his birthday party, he wanted to blow out some fire, and he wanted sushi for supper. Almost all of his dreams came true.  We had to narrow the guest list down to five. birthday2sm

I did not make that cake. Thank you for considering, even for a moment, that I did.

grandma1sm

J.D.’s mum was here all last week. Not only did she make that cake, she filled our fridge and freezer, emptied our laundry baskets, and had Jasper requesting that she alone be the one to change his butt.  Miraculous on all accounts.

grandma2sm

She was also responsible for the real live date J.D. and I went on.  As you can see, James has done an excellent job of capturing my post-partum bumblebee physique. drawingsm

Jasper woke up yesterday morning with a purple eye. I’m not sure if you remember, but the same thing happened to James when Jasper was pretty much the exact same age as Sage. They must slip out of bed in the middle of the night to punch their older brothers in the face.  One of the less discussed newborn reflexes. shinersm

The other day, J.D. asked James if he would grow up to be a good man. James told him, “Yes. I will be a good man just like you, Dad.” When J.D. told me, I smiled warmly. (Actually, I burst into tears and started leaking breastmilk everywhere.) sleepingsagedadsm

dadasage2sm

If all newborns were like Sage, I would have seventeen more. Yesterday was his due date, so maybe this is where he puts the clutch in gear and really shows me how life with three boys is going to go, but for now I will bask in his good graces.
mamasagesm

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Phil! permalink
    March 27, 2013 3:12 pm

    Happy Birthday James! You already are a good man 🙂 so say the Le Rosses of fair Victoria.

  2. Mary Caudle permalink
    March 27, 2013 3:24 pm

    The birthday cake looks amazing! (Thinking that Grandma devoted hours to imagining and creating this nifty racing track!) A wonderful beginning to ‘a-whole-hand-of-fingers year’ for James. Lovely pictures!

  3. March 27, 2013 3:29 pm

    just beautiful! you look amazing Claire and those are gorgeous photos of the boys and the birthday. What a gift to have your MIL there to help. thinking of you all.

  4. Janice permalink
    March 27, 2013 6:26 pm

    Beautiful pictures Claire, you look amazing and J.D. and the boys too.
    And Eileen you make me want to be 5 all over again just so I can get you to make me a cake like that haha. So awesome J.D. and Claire to have so much help 🙂
    Happy days !!

  5. Gwen Green permalink
    March 27, 2013 7:31 pm

    Love the pictures!! Happy Birthday, James, from all the Greens! And big hugs! That cake is so amazing I can’t even think of some new adjectives…they’ve all been used!! I think Eileen should go into the cake business:)

  6. Roni permalink
    March 27, 2013 9:15 pm

    Oh Claire!! I am so glad to read your posts! You have such a very beautiful family! Your boys are so adorable! Miss u old friend. ❤

  7. Theresa permalink
    March 28, 2013 8:36 pm

    Oh Claire, you made me tear up and leak breastmilk just reading that… and seeing that beautiful furry back.

    Just. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  8. April 3, 2013 2:17 am

    I’ve just survived an eighth birthday party and it wasn’t pretty! Thanks for your post – I laughed so hard at one point it made breastmilk shoot out my nose!

    Not sure if that’s physically possible, but you get the idea…

Leave a Reply

