Skip to content

Week Six

April 14, 2013

12-1sm

I have noticed lately that when you start to make more than just one or two babies, the time, thought, and attention you can put into things like explanations starts to face-plant. This is okay because the older ones pick up the slack and fill in all the blanks for the younger ones. The other day James and Jasper attacked me with wooden butter knives and pot lid shields and I told them to “go fight poverty”. James asked me what poverty was and I was more or less satisfied with the answer I gave him. Moments later he ordered Jasper to stop fighting dragons and help him fight the poor people. That same day, I heard him tell Jasper that “Mum and Dad used to be married but then they had kids so they’re not anymore. ” Sage, you are in for a real education.
12-2sm

12-3sm

12-4sm

As for J.D. and I , we have been practicing ingenuity (coping) in our own ways. Pre-Sage, I pretty consistently helped J.D. get a lunch together for school. Post-Sage, I sometimes provide verbal direction (i.e. “there are things in the cupboard” or “look in the fridge. Actually, don’t.” )  The other morning, J.D. grabbed a frozen container of “chili” from the freezer for his lunch. Turned out to be pumpkin puree but it was okay. He just ate a bigger piece of the cake that was in the staff room. And on my end, I have found that re-purposing a play pen can really make it seem like I have a couple of days before the laundry needs to be done.
13-1sm

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2013 10:32 pm

    I love this! I’m picturing JD eating pumpkin puree in the staff room, lol! Definitely going to stop at 2 kids now!

  2. Claire permalink*
    April 14, 2013 10:41 pm

    Don’t stop at 2! It just starts getting interesting with 3…that’s what I *meant* to convey…

  3. MomC permalink
    April 15, 2013 7:18 am

    Ha ha – makes you wonder what other jewels of wisdom James is passing on to Jasper when you’re not listening! I see Sage and JD are already sharing chuckles – what a smile!

  4. Mary Caudle permalink
    April 15, 2013 10:04 am

    They just get sweeter every day!!!

  5. Patricia Couweleers permalink
    April 15, 2013 9:48 pm

    Love your sharing, and that last photo of Sage is in the high cutestphere.
    Aunt Patti

  6. Carlie permalink
    April 23, 2013 9:04 pm

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart for this sentence: “I have noticed lately that when you start to make more than just one or two babies, the time, thought, and attention you can put into things like explanations starts to face-plant. ” Because tonight after I proudly told a 27 year old out of town houseguest that the Cowboy Junkies were playing in Whitehorse tonight, he said, “Who?” and as I tried to explain and not sound ancient my middle child asked, “Mom? What does ‘majestic’ mean?” And I replied in condensed version, “really special” and the 27 year old looked at me like, “you poor old woman” and expanded exponentially on the word, looking at me like I had never considered it before….. so Thank you Thank you, I wondered if it was just me. And I am so happy for you and your third little Love in your family! I hope you can keep on writing, too…

    Selfishly,
    Carlie!

  7. May 14, 2013 7:15 pm

    Go check this out. You are a recipient of these no-strings-attached awards

    http://themotherofnine9.wordpress.com/2013/05/14/blog-awards-straight-from-the-heart/

Leave a Reply

