Skip to content

Anytime now, Spring.

April 26, 2013

Sage had his six week check-up yesterday, only one week behind schedule. This is a major step forward for my parenting since Jasper didn’t even have a six week check up. If he had, it would have gone something like this:

Doctor: It appears your baby hates the world. He is also very large. Okay, bye.

On a related note, Sage is now 9 lbs 11 oz which is what Jasper weighed when he was born. That combined with the fact that Sage cries about 100% less than Jasper did makes me feel like I just got seven weeks worth of baby for free. (I’m not saying Sage never cries. I’m saying Jasper was an overachiever)

On an unrelated note, the car wouldn’t start yesterday and I had to ask our neighbor to give me a jump for the way-too-manyth time. He didn’t have to pull up onto a two foot snowbank this time which probably means he judged me slightly less for not having replaced the battery in our car yet. He spotted Sage’s car seat in the back and was shocked that I had had another baby. I told him the muumuu parka I own does a good job of hiding impending children. Then he made the very good point that you can’t tell males from females around here until about May. It was a healing conversation, I felt.

Speaking of snowbanks, one just fell from the sky all over Whitehorse the other day and oh, what was that? Yes, I know it’s late April. Congratulations on all of the green and flowery type things growing where you live.

26-1sm

The boys took off their shirts, put on sunhats, and made sandcastles out of wooden blocks on our living room floor to celebrate the death of Spring.

26-2sm

26-3sm

26-4sm

James has been apprenticing for the position of media manager around here. He took these next two photos. I’ll let you be impressed and then I’ll show you some of the video footage he’s taken. It’s probably a lot like being inside his head. 26-5sm

26-6sm

And a couple of b & w’s for the record. 26-7sm

26-8sm

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    April 26, 2013 10:09 pm

    I love you. Thank you for sharing your family with us. From the bottom of my heart I am grateful for you.

    • Claire permalink*
      April 27, 2013 9:10 pm

      I will refer to this comment when I am old and full of regrets for exposing my family on the interwebs.

  2. April 26, 2013 10:49 pm

    “being inside his head” bahahaha – funny thought. Beautiful boys and mama.

  3. April 26, 2013 11:29 pm

    spring is still lagging behind in Ontario as ell- You have a knack of capturing warmth and emotion with your camera

  4. Steve Naylor permalink
    April 27, 2013 7:16 am

    I enjoy reading your blog, Claire. Do you remember me? You were in my English class in high school. I was the teacher and you performed “Poisoning Pigeons in the Park” at one of coffee house events. Steve Naylor

    • Claire permalink*
      April 27, 2013 9:09 pm

      Yes! I can officially retire: Steve Naylor reads my blog.

  5. Gwen Green permalink
    April 27, 2013 9:56 am

    Love your narrative, instead of normalizing like the media does, you specialize “normal” and make it very special indeed!! Love the pictures too of course! They DO paint a thousand words.

  6. Annabelle Barrow permalink
    May 8, 2013 10:13 pm

    Hey I’ve been a reader for a while, but I’m not usually a commenter, but I just decided to be a commenter to tell you that I think your fam is pretty neat. I hope to become a cool, witty mom like yourself someday.

    • Claire permalink*
      May 8, 2013 10:21 pm

      Thanks Annabelle! Your transition from non-commenter to commenter made my night.

Leave a Reply

